Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



101 things about me... give or take 70 or so

2003-08-07 - 3:07 p.m.

Disclaimer

1. I got married for the first time at age 16. I don't recommend it.

2. I raised two of my younger brothers from the time they were young teenagers (I was in my twenties at the time.) Children's Services took them away from my mother because she wouldn't protect them from the abusive asshole she married. Because of this�

3. I haven't spoken to my mother in over 10 years.

4. My maternal grandmother is like a mother to me. I lived with her for part of the time I was growing up, because my mother wouldn't protect me from one of the previous abusive assholes she had married.

5. I am the oldest of seven grandchildren, and the only girl. Yes, I am quite the princess.

6. When I was little my grandparents, 2 great-grandmothers and a few aunts all shared adjoining lots in the same neighborhood. I don't believe my daintily-diapered butt ever sat down on anything other than a warm lap until we moved away when I was three. Baby paradise, it was!

7. All three of the men I married have had dark hair, and eyes with green in them.

8. Me? My eyes are blue. My hair is dark ash blonde. I know this because that is what the box says. I was blonde in my twenties, and have gone redhead and brunette on occasion. I looked pretty good in all these colors

9. My natural haircolor was once described by a hairdresser as "the color of the gunk that collects on the coils on the back of a refrigerator." No, I didn't make that up and yes, I did still leave the guy a tip. What the hell, it made me laugh. And he's right, that IS the color it is� I just didn't really need the visual, that's all.

10. I once spent 5 years growing my hair out to near waist-length, then cut it off after a couple of years because I needed a change. I've regretted it ever since and I'm now trying to grow it again.

11. My fingernails only grow if I totally ignore them. Usually I just clip them short, sometimes I'll forget for a couple of weeks and suddenly I'll notice that I have nails! Long, raggedy, misshapen nails� so I'll shape them all nice with an emery board, maybe paint them all pretty. They'll look good for a week or so before they all start breaking off again.

12. I keep my toenails painted ALWAYS. I hate the look of naked toenails.

13. I used to take jiu-jitsu lessons, and it's the only sport I was ever good at. I don't remember any of it now, but someday I want to go back and get my black belt.

14. My hidden talent is being able to blow a spit bubble off the end of my tongue.

15. I have a "thing" about people's eyebrows. If they are too thick and bushy I can't quit looking at them, fantasizing about what a brutal session with some tweezers might be able to accomplish. I actually talked a friend into going to have her caterpillar-brows waxed. She looked marvelous!

16. My husband has really nice eyebrows. That's not the only reason I married him, but it certainly didn't hurt.

17. I love it that my husband is tall. I am short and I love it that I have to reach way up to put my arms around his neck.

18. Black is one of my favorite colors. Some people say it is depressing but to me it seems very deep and still and peaceful. It is soothing to me.

19. Other colors I like are blues, aquas and purples.

20. I tend to get depressed in the winter, and then I crave the color red and want to surround myself with it. I don't much care for red any other time.

21. My favorite food is ice cream, and I only want the good stuff. My favorite is Breyer's Butter Pecan, but there are not many flavors I don't like.

22. I LOVE chocolate. I'm also somewhat allergic to it, as too much of it will give me an asthma attack. So I'll eat it until Ijust start to not be able to breathe, and then I stop. Usually.

23. I've tried to think of all the foods I don't like, and I can only think of one: beets.

24. One other thing I don't like food-wise is anything that's too chewy� if the steak is not fork-tender then just bring me the chicken, please. I'm a firm believer that the act of eating should not make you feel as tired as if you had just completed a Jaws-ercize class.

25. I love bad puns. The badder the better.

26. When I was in fifth grade, the school wanted to skip me ahead to the sixth. My parents decided against it because they thought I would have difficulty fitting in with the older kids. What the hell were they thinking? I sure didn't fit in with kids my own age! Even if the skip didn't improve my social life, at least I would have been ahead of the game academically. But nobody asked me what I thought at the time� I didn't even find out about the proposed grade skip until a few years later.

27. I hated school when I was a kid. I dropped out in the ninth grade, and then got my GED when I turned 18. I didn't have to study a day for the GED test, and I got scores above the 96th percentile in every subject but math. For a long time I thought that that proved I was right when at 14 I told my parents that I didn't need to go to school because I already knew everything I needed to know.

28. It is only in the last few years that I've begun to realize that I have HUGE gaps in my education, especially in history, geography and math. Some of these I'll probably never fill in, but I'm trying.

29. Because of the gaps in my knowledge base, I feel dumb a lot of the time even though I know I'm not.

30. I love going to college. If I ever won the lottery and didn't have to worry about making a living, I'd take class after class, just learning whatever was interesting.

31. I can't lie worth a shit. Not even little white lies� so if someone asks me what I think of something, they better be prepared to handle the truth. Not that I go out of my way to insult people� I'm not one of those who thinks my outspokenness is "refreshing" and then uses that as a license to insult people. If I can't say anything nice I usually won't say anything at all. Unless you ask.

32. On the other hand, if I give you a compliment you can bet your ass that it's completely sincere.

33. If I were in charge of the universe, two of the first things I'd change would be: there would be no connection between money and work, nor between babies and sex. Sex and money would have no strings attached. People would work at whatever they loved to do, and have babies only if they really truly wanted them. (Assuming they could pass the test for the license.)

34. I slept every night with a nightlight on until I was over 30. I'm still afraid of the dark sometimes so I'll leave the bathroom light on.

35. I love to read. Mostly I like non-fiction on subjects such as psychology, self-help, sociology, science and philosophy. I also like kind of off-beat modern fiction, but don't usually like Oprah's picks just because they depress the hell out of me. I do tend to love Latina authors� the writing tends to be "warm," and very picturesque yet simple (meaning no long, convoluted sentences!)

36. I am truly a split personality when it comes to things religious and spiritual. Part of me is fascinated by the idea of the supernatural and magic, of synchronicity and spiritual guidance and higher powers and using spells and rituals and visualizations to influence events and circumstances. I also have an extremely analytical side which will not let me just take things on faith without having any proof. I have come to rest somewhere in the middle and just believe that some of these spiritual/supernatural things MAY be true but that there is probably a good scientific explanation that just hasn't been discovered yet. I think science may in the future discover things about the nature of energy that will explain a lot of what is now dismissed by many as supernatural nonsense.

37. I tend to be a very fearful, anxious person. Partly this is due to having Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, and probably partly just from being a natural worrier. I have found that facing fears head on will often make them disappear or at least decrease them enough so they don't interfere with my life and goals. I try to do that as much as possible but I'm not always successful.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!