Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Piss, moan

2003-04-01 - 2:32 p.m.

Disclaimer

Well, we all know that I�m a whiny self-absorbed bitch, so I know you won�t be too surprised at the buttloads of empathy that you�ll discover severely lacking in this entry.

Last week, we finally had one uneventful week at work as far as SickGirl is concerned. I was beginning to get optimistic thinking that maybe she�d just had a bad patch (whether of health or attitude) but maybe she was coming around alright. But this morning when I walked in and made the mistake of asking (rhetorically of course, this IS Chicago after all) �how ya doin�?�, I unfortunately was subjected to an answer.

�Not too good,� she sighed. �I�ve got this sore on my foot that won�t heal, and I�m waiting on a call from the foot doctor.� Now, if true, this could be serious as SickGirl is a diabetic. Naturally I am a bit worried for her, because the idea of anyone having to have parts cut off is just horrifying to me.

So she left at 10:15 for the doctor, leaving me once again scrambling to do double duty. She called just a little bit later from her cell phone to say that she wouldn�t be in the rest of the day (surprise surprise, it�s 75 degrees outside and gorgeous� what are the odds she�d have come back no matter WHAT the doctor said?) She did try to tell me what he said but we had a bad connection and the front desk phone kept ringing off the hook so I don�t think I really got the gist of what she was saying. Something about being in �soft shoes� for the next few days, needing to keep off the foot, needing to keep it elevated� but I couldn�t figure out if that means she�s coming in to work over the next few days or not. And she also said something about needing foot surgery once the thing heals up.

Yes, I am sorry for her trouble and I hope they get this thing taken care of for her. But you know where my mind went, don�t you? Particularly if she is off work due to surgery, they�re going to need front desk coverage�

Poop. Just motherfucking poop. Here we go again� I�ll be asked to stay late and/or come in early and then I�ll be back in that whole dilemma of having to make up (or at least embellish) the reasons why I can�t. Because the real reason�that working full-time is too stressful for me with even the little bit of school I�ve got going on�doesn�t sound very legitimate, to my ear and no doubt to my anal-retentive workaholic boss�s ear as well. What it DOES sound is inflexible and uncooperative. Un-team-playerish.

Even if they don�t give me any grief about staying over, they�ll still want me to cover phones in the morning during my shift. Which means my job becomes about three times as hard. Plus PersonalCallsGirl has found a way to annoy me as well� on days I can�t stay late, she is supposed to come up in the afternoon to cover the desk when I go. We touch base early in the morning and I always let her know what time I�m leaving. But naturally, she can�t just fucking come up there at whatever time I said I was going� after wasting most of the day on personal shit, she winds up taking a late lunch or getting �busy� right around the time I want to leave, forcing me to hunt her down and ask her if she plans to relieve me or what? Which annoys the fuck out of me� I hate to pester someone, but I hate even MORE to be anticipating walking out the front door at one o�clock only to see her plop her ass down in the lunchroom at 12:50 for her half-hour break. Today I interrupted a meeting at 1:10 to ask her if she was coming up to take over, prompting my boss to send someone else to cover. I got to go, but at the expense of feeling like everyone is thinking that I don�t put myself out enough for the company. And I know, I shouldn�t CARE what they are thinking. But I do care. And I especially care if what the boss is thinking is �Gee, we really should get a temp in here who is a little more flexible.�

End of work rant, beginning of school worries� one big reason I needed to leave on time today is because tonight is my first night of the design class. I didn�t sleep well again last night� not so much anxiety this time as plain old woke up on the couch at 2 a.m. and couldn�t get back to sleep after moving to the bed. So I�m butt-dragging tired today and really need to get a nap so�s I don�t fall asleep in class tonight. And I�ve got to get my supplies together, and make sure there�s food here for HRH, and make sure I�ve got change for the bus and double-check the bus schedule and triple-check my class schedule to make sure I show up at the proper time. Plus I just need some general worry-time� I�m a little apprehensive as to whether this class is going to be appropriate for me. There were no prerequisites or proficiencies either required or recommended, but I did pick up the recommended book for the course and did a little reading in it over the weekend. The whole first chapter talks about nothing but �learning to see like an artist�� by DRAWING various still-lifes and such. Now, I understand the concept, but folks, I cannot draw to save my ass. I am going to be SO disappointed if I walk into this class and find out that basic drawing and/or art skills are presumed. I mean, I�d have been HAPPY to take a drawing class if I knew I needed it in order to take this one� but as actual �art� is not likely to play a huge part in my eventual career choice, I decided to forgo it in favor of what I thought would be a class covering the principles of composition, color, etc. I�m really hoping that�s what it turns out to be, because I�m not sure if I can get into any other class I need at this point if the design class doesn�t work out.

And thus endeth my ranting. My nap awaits.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!