Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Never mind that

2003-04-16 - 10:05 a.m.

Disclaimer

Remember how I said I wasn�t going to do any more work bitching in my diary? Well, fuck dat.

I�m having kind of a crappy day. I hate working reception under the best of circumstances, but my regular job is not compatible with having to answer the switchboard, so not only am I working more hours than I want to work, I�m actually falling behind at my own job. This is stressing me out to no end. Not so much because I think I�m going to get into trouble for getting behind, but because I know that next week I�m going to be running my ass off to catch up� and probably again working more hours than I want, because our billing person is taking the week off and guess who is the only other person in the office trained to do billing?

The icing on the cake for me today was an email I received from one of my higher-ups, in response to a question I asked:

�The list you are looking for is on the xyz drive in the �VIP Department� folder. My suggestion for the future is that you make copies of the list before you use the last one.� Ending with a little smiley face which lets me know she KNEW she was implying that I�m an idiot, and was hoping I wouldn�t take it that way. But how else do you take a suggestion like that?

The reason I needed to find the actual file is because I just realized that we have been sending out the wrong version of the list to certain clients. Not entirely my fault, because the folder it was in was labeled wrong� but I suppose I could be blamed for not really looking at what I was sending out. So maybe I am an idiot, but not the exact KIND of idiot she�s implying I am� and yes, it DOES make a difference so bite me.

I know I have a lousy attitude these days and I�m not even sure why exactly. I�m lucky to be working at all, and I know if I went somewhere else there would just be different stuff to piss me off. I�m a professional temp, for poop�s sake� I should be used to having to be more flexible about hours than I really want to be, having to do crappy stuff I don�t want to do and being treated like an idiot in the process. I guess it�s just more bearable in a short-term job because you know there�s an end in sight and a new crappy-but-thankfully-differently-crappy job just over the horizon. But in this shit-sucking economy, that little scenario just doesn�t pan out the way it used to. And I don�t relish the thought of having all the joy sucked right back out of life by having our financial situation all fucked up by me not working again.

Anyway, whatever. I'm just blowing off steam. It ain�t like I got a lot of other options right now, ya know what I mean?








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!