Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Work rant... what else?

2003-04-29 - 3:06 p.m.

Disclaimer

I�d like to mention, just for the record and for anyone who might have missed the point, just how fucking much I hate the hell that is my workplace.

I came in this morning to find that the coworker whose job I have been covering for the past week has indeed returned to the workplace from her vacation�with some sort of illness that better fucking not be SARS, goddammit.

She was telling me all about her adventures out of state and then asked me to come back to her office to show her what I�d gotten done in her absence. We stood there in close quarters talking for probably another 15 minutes before she coughed a delicate cough and put her hand to her chest saying, �Man, my chest really hurts when I cough.� Then proceeded to tell me about the raging fever she�s had for the past few days along with vomiting and diarrhea, and how the boss told her not to come in but she felt like she HAD to because there�s just so much she needs to work on.

Ok, first of all, an open message to anyone who thinks it is somehow noble or evidence of a superior work ethic to drag their sorry ass to work when sick�

FUCK YOU. FUCK YOU LONG AND HARD WITH A LONG, SHARP STICK. STAY THE FUCK HOME WITH YOUR FUCKING DISEASE GERMS YOU IGNORANT, SELF-CENTERED, BROWN-NOSING BASTARD!!!!

As an asthmatic, I live my life in fear of the colds and flu which, while they may only make the average person miserable for a few days, can fuck up my breathing for months. No shit. I once got the flu and was miserably sick and short of breath for FIVE GODDAMN MONTHS.

So then the coworker tells me she�s made a doctor�s appointment, and she leaves in the middle of the day to go to it. Next thing I know, I�m hearing through the grapevine that she�s been rushed to the emergency room. Then the boss comes to tell me that coworker is �sick, and will probably be out a few days. We�ll discuss what to do about posting checks later.� Posting checks being another hateful part of sick coworker�s job that I�ve unfortunately been trained on.

I had already promised myself that other than today, I�m not staying late AT ALL this week. Tomorrow I�m telling the boss that I am available to work from 8-1� where and how she wants to use me is her business, but I will not be staying late any more.

Goddamn. I know I must come off as the most unsympathetic individual ever, but I am just so sick of all the personal drama going on in that place that I�m expected to cover for. I was so looking forward to spending this week working my regular hours and getting my own job caught up. I AM sorry about everyone�s health problems� I know it doesn�t sound that way as much as I bitch about it in my diary, but I do like my coworkers as people and I don�t want to see them feeling bad. I just wish I didn�t always have to be dragged into it somehow!








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!