Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



GOOD girl! Here's a biscuit!

2003-05-13 - 2:59 p.m.

Disclaimer

My boss has become even MORE annoyingly patronizing, if you can believe such a thing possible. Apparently the fact that I am unhappy with all the changes to my job has managed to penetrate through her self-absorbed fog; but, typically, she has completely missed the point as to WHY I am unhappy and has decided that it must be because I feel that her changing the way we do things is a criticism of the way I was doing them before.

Which is completely untrue. I KNOW I was doing a good job before� things were running very smoothly on my end and besides, I was doing exactly what I had been told to do. I understand perfectly that the reason she wants to make changes to the process is because things weren�t working out so well out in the field. My objections are that she is making it near-impossible for me to organize my job, and that she is insisting on making things harder than they actually have to be to accomplish her objective.

But she thinks I am feeling criticized, and so apparently is making it her new mission to make sure I feel appreciated and loved. She popped into my office this morning and said brightly, �I MISSED you yesterday!�

I was momentarily confused� why did she miss me? I was THERE yesterday! Then I remembered that she hadn�t come in to the office until just as I was leaving, and she�d had to run right into a meeting and we didn�t speak at all. So she�s telling me she missed me, and I�m remembering how all day yesterday I was mentally WILLING her not to come in until after one o�clock so I would have a day of peace without having to deal with her� and I couldn�t think of a single thing to say in reply! I mean, how in the hell do you respond to that? Say �I missed you too� and then upchuck all over her strappy little high-heeled shoes? So I muttered something inane and then she went babbling on about enrollments� as a matter of fact, she told me yet AGAIN every detail of how she wants the process to work. Like we haven�t been over it and over it and OVER it already.

And then she smiled a big fake smile and said, �You�re doing a great job!� in this sickening-sweet, kindergarten-teacher voice, and all but patted me on the head. I was shocked at the patronization, and completely at a loss for a reply. What was I supposed to do, beam with pleasure? I just choked out an unethusiastic thanks and then realizing how insincere and annoyed I must have sounded, I added, �Well, I�m doing the best I can.�

So then she repeated what a good job I�m doing, and I swear it sounded like being congratulated for going poo-poo in the potty.

I kept thinking maybe I was being paranoid and reading in condescension that wasn�t really there; but the receptionist had overheard the whole thing and all morning long, every time she�d walk by my office she�d crack me up by poking her head in and chirping stuff like �Oh, you�re doing such a GOOD little job!� and �I�m so PROUD of you!� It�s a wonder I didn�t get fired today, the way I was laughing my big old hooting laugh right out loud there in the office. Because I�m sure the sound of joy in the office makes the boss�s hemorrhoids throb uncomfortably.

It occurred to me that maybe I should find a way to make clear to my boss that I�m not feeling criticized, but merely upset that her new policies are making everything so disorganized. But I�m pretty sure that would prompt her to come give me remedial lessons in organization, probably including a demonstration on the use of folders and sticky notes. You think I�m exaggerating? This is a woman who feels she needs to explain to me how to ask a question:

�When you talk to So-and-So, make sure you ask them for the priority status and estimated duration of service. Just say, �So-and-So, what�s the priority status, and estimated duration of service?��

I would love to have said to her face, �Yes, I know how to ask a question.� But unfortunately, I NEED this stupid little job for a few more weeks.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As predicted, the zone managers are NOT pleased about having to call in to approve enrollments. They didn�t call yesterday, and today at 12:45 I had to tell the boss they hadn�t call in today either, and I was leaving at 1:00 come hell or high water.

So she called them to tell them to call in NOW, and one of them got kind of pissy with me because, surprise surprise, she doesn�t know off the top of her head where the addresses are or whether we have openings for new clients in those areas. And she basically told me to go by the old procedure to start the new people. And got pissier when I told her I wasn�t supposed to do that�she just said to do it anyway and if it�s wrong we�ll change it later. So yeah, it�s all working out just fucking peachy.

And here�s the kick in the head� since the one zone manager got fired, the boss is approving the enrollments for her zone personally. If you remember from my recent ranting, one of the reasons I was so pissed off is because my boss rejected my common-sense idea of printing out Mapquest maps for the zone managers and leaving them along with the day�s enrollments on their desks, so they wouldn�t have to try to do the approvals off the tops of their heads from out in the field. Well, today the boss requested that from now on, I print out Mapquest maps for HER and leave them on her desk with the enrollment forms she needs to approve! Yet I�m still not allowed to perform the same courtesy for the zone managers, even though they�re worked to death at this point and it would be a thousand times more convenient for them.

I loathe this woman more with every passing moment.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!