Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Couldn't we just fast-forward to NEXT Friday?

2003-06-06 - 5:19 p.m.

Disclaimer

I just missed becoming a bazillionaire today. On the way out the door this morning, I told the Prince I�d just about be willing to bet a bazillion dollars that the boss would ask me to stay late today. I was technically right, in that she DID ask me today. It�s just that she flat-out asked me could I pretty please stay late some days next week?

�NO! I will not stay late at your fuckety-fucking little hell-hole next week, you evil egomaniacal bitch!� I shrieked, before I flipped her the bird and walked right the fuck out of there, a whole week before my notice is up.

Oh, wait... that was the dream sequence. Actually, I just smiled very sweetly and told her that unfortunately, I would not be able to stay late even a single day next week, due to it being finals week and having projects due and tests to study for. So sorry. I also informed her that I would not be having time on Monday to train the temp she is hiring to replace me... seeing as how I�ve got THREE FUCKING DAYS worth of work stacked up on my desk that needs catching up. I did tell her I�d probably be able to start training on Tuesday, as long as I don�t have to man the front desk on Monday and can use that day to catch up.

Surprisingly, she agreed. So I won�t be in the least bit surprised if the temp arrives bright and early Monday morning for training. Or maybe not... maybe she senses how little I care these days and how close I am to just walking right the fuck out on about an hourly basis now. Being so short-staffed, I�d think she�d want to keep me around to use and abuse as long as possible, in spite of my obvious attitude problem (meaning that I don�t share her opinion that she�s the cleverest thing since double-ended dildos.)

I am SOOOOOOOOO happy it�s Friday. Even though I�m feeling really bored and restless already. I have a shitload of school- and house-work to do, none of which I�m even vaguely enthused about. And not a damn thing to look forward to this weekend, either. Being off work is the best thing I�ve got going.

And I SO do not want to go to the scanning class tomorrow. I have just totally run out of steam on that one. I�m at the point where I could really just use a couple of weeks off from everything to relax and get refreshed... unfortunately, that ain�t gonna happen as the summer quarter starts up practically the instant the spring quarter ends.

Being a fuck-up who has never held the same job for more than 18 months and has almost always managed to finagle a month or two off in between jobs, I seriously wonder how all of ya�ll conscientious types who work YEARS at the same job manage to destress without a lengthy break every now and again. Don�t tell me 'vacation'... any time I�ve ever worked long enough to earn a vacation it�s only been about two weeks' worth and that all gets eaten up by traveling out of state to visit relatives. And no matter how much I love seeing my family, I can�t say it�s at all relaxing with all the driving and running around and sightseeing and sleep deprivation.

Speaking of destressing, a flyer came in yesterday�s mail at work advertising a seminar on �Women and Stress.� It�s supposed to teach you all about managing work, family and social obligations without losing your motherfucking mind. The flyer makes it sound really good, and being a gullible sort I think I�m going to sign up for it. It�s only $39. The downside is, it�s not til August. Hopefully I�ll be able to hold out til then. I�m sure my stress supply won�t be running out any time soon.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!