Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Stalling

2003-06-13 - 6:34 p.m.

Disclaimer

Well, that�s that. The job from hell will soon be just an unfond memory... as will dinners out, books, clothing, electricity. No, really, it shouldn�t be THAT bad... hell, since I�ve been working these past few months there were some weeks I never bothered to cash my check at all, and other weeks I blew most of it on crap. As long as we can do a LITTLE crap-blowing over the next few months we probably won�t even notice. Except for all the cooking I�ll have to do, I suppose. That�ll suck. I just gotta keep in mind that spending a couple of hours a day cooking and cleaning up the kitchen beats the shit all out of spending four hours a day in the loony bin.

Of course, everyone was so nice to me today with it being my last day and all, I did feel a twinge of regret about leaving. Which lasted all of about 30 seconds until my happy ass hit the street a free woman.

Hell, my boss didn�t even say goodbye... she blew in this morning like a bitch on wheels and barely grunted hello to me and the new temp. Then she spent the next two hours holed up in the billing office conferring with the new guy and someone on the other end of the phone. I kept going back to try and say a touching goodbye because it seemed like the polite thing to do, plus I thought she might like a Meeting on how the new temp�s training had progressed; but she stayed busy all day and standing behind her waiting to see if I could get an opportunity to at least wave goodbye and smile, I was getting really bitchy vibes from her so I decided to just go. I did leave her a nice goodbye note on her desk... nice working with you, thanks for the opportunity, it�s been fun, feel free to call me if there�s any questions about anything. I thought she might call this afternoon to apologize for not catching me to say goodbye. But I suspect she�s done playing nicey-nice with me now that my replacement is all trained and ready to go. So whatever... I actually would have PREFERRED to slide out of there without speaking to her but it seemed kind of rude after working together for all these weeks. But I feel like my little note fulfilled my temp-etiquette requirements and I got off scot-free without having to have the most insincere of the �goodbye and good luck, c�mere and gimme a hug� interactions on the day�s agenda.

***************

So last night was my last design class, and guess what? I wound up with an A for the quarter. Woo hoo! But even better than that, my teacher sat down with each of us to give us his general impression of our work and he said that mine was very creative and edgy, that I tend to go a step beyond the ordinary and expected and that�s what makes a good design. I was absolutely ECSTATIC about this... his comments thus far have been the generic kindergarten-teacher kind��very nice.� �Interesting.� �Nicely done.� �I like your use of colors.�

He is very aware that he is working with students at all levels of artistic skill, from people like me who have never had a drawing lesson to people who have been in art and computer art classes for years. And so he wisely grades us on effort and improvement rather than just looking at how fabulous our projects turned out to be. But last night�s comments seemed very sincere and rather than being directed at my level of artistic skill, he complimented me on things I had worked very hard on and was proud of�my ideas, my effort, and my creativity. I do feel like I deserved my A in the class, but the encouragement from my teacher was even more rewarding.

***************


So what I�m stalling on right now is studying for the scanning stuff. Actually, it�s not really stalling so much as taking �baby steps��really teeny tiny baby steps, but steps nonetheless. So far I�ve taken a nap, had some caffeine, cleared myself off a workspace and gotten my study materials together. Can I be done now? Shouldn�t I get an automatic C for making that much effort? Actually, I tallied up my points from my projects and quizzes so far, and even if I didn�t earn a single blessed point on the final or the last project tomorrow, I WOULD have a C in the class. But... I�d hate to break a streak. I�ve had all A�s so far (well, except for a B in ethics, which I guess implies that I�m smarter than I am ethical? I dunno... seems like there was some bad grammar in that there sentence but I don�t care enough to figger it out.)

Anyhoo... now that I�ve dumped all the shit out of my brain here and made room for all that shiny new knowledge I need to cram in there, I guess I better go get busy.

But gawd, I�ll betcha I�m gonna be a tired cowgirl tomorrow. I think I�ve overdone the caffeine a bit. Drinking an espresso doubleshot and a double-size coffee thingy (our official name for Starbucks bottled coffee drinks,) not to mention slurping all evening on the fresh pot of coffee I�m brewing, always seems like a good idea at study time but not so much later on, when I�m jogging up and down the walls at 3 a.m.

If there�s a four-page entry here at 6 a.m. tomorrow morning, you�ll know why.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!