Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Welcome to Summer Quarter, 2003

2003-06-17 - 4:52 p.m.

Disclaimer

Yesterday was the first paper and ink class, the one class I have on Monday and Wednesday afternoons. My initial impression of the class was something along the lines of �Holy shit! Did I wander into a kindergarten classroom by mistake?� The classroom is tiny and airless and utilizes those stupid one piece seat-and-desk deals that were obviously created with your average anorexic teenager in mind. As I squoze myself into one and realized it was going to be a tight fit, my mind�s eye flashed before me humiliating scenarios of having my big ass trapped in there and having to be cut out by a crew of snickering EMT�s. But I decided I�d rather chance that than to have to admit out loud that I don�t fit in... figuratively as well as literally, I guess. I kept thinking all the skinny people must be smirking behind my back as they watched me wedge my fat self in there; but later I noticed there were a couple of other ladies my size in the class and I didn�t notice them seeming to have any trouble. So maybe nobody noticed me, either. At least that�s what I�m telling myself.

The other bad thing about those desks is that they are SO fucking uncomfortable. Even sitting in the most comfortable of chairs, my body stiffens up like a corpse after sitting in one position for more than an hour. In this stupid thing, I�ve barely got room to shift my weight from one buttock to the other. I just hope my legs don�t start falling asleep on me.... I guess then my only option would be the floor.

The good news about the paper and ink class is that the teacher is NOT the scanning teacher, nor does he bear any resemblance in teaching style. He�s a former vice-president of sales, and he looks it. Outgoing, good-looking in that jock sort of way that does absolutely nothing for me... the kind of guy who looks like he was born wearing a golf shirt, but of course switched to a suit and tie for the christening. At least he�s not boring... he�s got a personality and a sense of humor and anecdotes and everything! You wouldn�t think a person�s anecdotes about his career as a paper salesman would be all that interesting... but then again, you haven�t taken a scanning class without the benefit of any kind of personal anecdote or aside whatever, have you?

Speaking of which, tonight is the graphic arts 101 with scanning guy... (who I guess should now be more properly referred to as graphic arts guy, but oh well.) I am SOOOOOO not looking forward to this class. I just know it�s going to suck with scanning guy doing the honors. The one little bit of hope I�m hanging onto: on the college website, the class is listed as being taught by Scanning Guy/Some Female Teacher whose name I do not recognize. Could it be that it�s not set in stone that Scanning Guy will be teaching? Please oh please oh please...

This morning, I had my first drawing class and it went really well. The teacher is kind of a new agey type of guy who understands the concept of �feeding your soul.� Which is pretty much why I�m there, even though I�m using the excuse that I�ll need drawing skills for my new graphic arts career. Our assignment today was to take off our shoe and draw it. A bit daunting... you should SEE the detail in the sneaker I had on today! But it�s coming along... I�m actually doing better than I thought I would, though far from anything resembling �good.� I�m a little less optimistic about our assignment that�s due next Tuesday though.... A self-portrait, done life size or bigger from the mirror. Yeesh! I�m having a little trouble shifting gears from the design class to this one... I keep trying to figure out how I can do the assignment with a minimum of drawing. And then I remember, Oh yeah, the drawing is the point! Silly me.

Well, it�s about that time so I�m off to see what graphic arts 101 holds in store for me. Please let there be a nice interesting lady standing in front of the class. (Big boobs would be a nice touch too... but on second thought, maybe I�d better not push my luck.)








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!