Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Much miscellaneous about school

2003-06-18 - 9:00 a.m.

Disclaimer

My new pet peeve: Diaryland people who run interesting banners, but when you click on them you find the writer on hiatus. What the hell is that all about?

So Scanning Guy WAS the teacher for last night�s class. The unknown woman named on the schedule turned out to be a co-instructor who is easing back into teaching by assisting in the class. She seems nice and interesting enough just like I wished for in my last entry, but alas, no boobs whatsoever. She looks like Kathy Lee Gifford with big hair.

Having two instructors for this class is both good and bad. Good, because she breaks up the monotony of him a little bit; bad, because now we have TWO people yammering away at us. At one point after he�d been yapping for about 90 minutes, Scanning Guy said, �Let�s take a quick look around the print shop, and then we�ll take a break.� At this point Kathy Lee decided that SHE�D like to hear a little about each of us, just to help her get to know us and what we wanted out of this course. So we went around the room and everyone gave their spiel, with Kathy Lee adding about 5 minutes of comment at the end of each. So that was kind of annoying.

The one thing that really came as a surprise to me in this class is something I should have known going in, if I had actually read the course description. This particular class session is only eight weeks, which also means each class is nearly four hours in length. Somehow I had misread or misremembered the hours as being 6:30 to 9... actually, it�s 6 o�clock to 9:50. Bit of a difference there! Being that it�s only eight weeks, that pretty much means we�re going to have to bust ass to get done. The leisurely pace and early dismissals I enjoyed in the scanning class are a thing of the past.

All my classes are shorter than I realized. Paper and ink is FIVE weeks. He told us we�d NEVER be going home early from that class... too much to cover in the short time allotted. My drawing class is an eight-week class also. What this means is that the next two months are going to be fairly grueling as far as homework, studying and class time is concerned... and then as of August 10, I�m off for six weeks!

I�m of two minds about this... on the one hand, it�ll be nice to have some down time. But on the other... I feel like I should work in a couple more courses or something (although I don�t think they�re offering a second session anyway and I really couldn�t afford to pay for it even if they did.) I suppose I should plan to use the time wisely. Maybe get some stuff done around here, concentrate on getting some exercise, maybe catch up on my two years� worth of backlogged reading material. I�ve also got some self-teaching computer books sitting here... maybe I�ll work on the HTML or Adobe GoLive during that time. I dunno... I�m afraid what�s going to happen is that I�ll piss it away net surfing and napping, cause I�m dumb and undisciplined like that. But we�ll see.

Yesterday I went and signed up for a PE membership. They have a nice weight room there as well as a swimming pool, but it turns out they have some pretty fucked-up hours so if I want to use both facilities on a regular basis I�ve got to plan it out pretty good. I wanted to swim yesterday but I didn�t think to bring a lock for my stuff, and by the time I walked all the way over to the bookstore and bought one, I figured I�d gotten enough exercise in for one day. I�ll swim tomorrow after art class. I�m still debating if I want to go use the weight room today... I�m a little sleepy and I�ve got a lot of homework so I�m not so keen on the idea of going on campus two hours early, plus then having to make the lengthy trek from the PE building to the west side of the campus where my class is held. Maybe I�ll just start that next week. Or Saturday... Saturday might be a good time to get up early and go work out and not have the place be too crowded. Whether I decide to take the time depends on whether I can materialize any "funner" plans for the weekend, I guess.

One nice thing about all that tromping around the campus is that this week, we�ve had some of the most gorgeous summer weather in the history of weather. Sunny, blue cloudless skies, hot but not too hot, the smell of flowers on the warm breeze. Just the kind of weather that makes me glad to have a reason to be outside.

The fly in that ointment is that my allergies seem to finally have caught up with me here in Illinois. I had horrible early-summer allergies to pollen back in Ohio, which is one reason I�ve postponed my annual visit until August. I�d been enjoying being allergy-free since moving up here 4 years ago, but suddenly this year, they�re baaaaaaaack. Sneezing, itchy eyes, asthmatic cough and all. I don�t know if I�ve suddenly become sensitized to something that grows here, or if there is just more pollen in the air this year. It seems like a bad allergy year for a lot of people... I think the weird weather may have made it so that everything had to pollinate all at once real quick-like once the weather finally started getting warmer. Whatever it is, it�s a pain in the ass considering how much I have to be outdoors right now. I went out and purchased my old standby �allergy kit��allergy eye drops, cortisone cream for the itchy nose, and kleenex. Oh, and panty liners. For the sneezing. (Those of you who don�t immediately understand probably don�t WANT to know.)

Tonight I must go spend a small fortune on art supplies, which is always fun. And today, I have a small shitload of homework to complete and a bunch of reading, so for now I�m off to do the good little student thing.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!