Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Screwed myself... and not in a good way.

2003-07-11 - 4:58 a.m.

Disclaimer

Got a call a couple of weeks ago from our Friend (see cast list) who wanted to make a date to go shopping together. She needs to get some stuff for her sister�s wedding, and so wants me to take her to look at sex toys, lingerie and the like. Cool! I love to browse around in places like that. So I said, suuuuuuuuure.... this Saturday would be fine, just fine!

And, since I�m absolutely broke as can be, I offered to cook dinner at our place afterwards. The only money we have at this point is all earmarked for St. Louis next weekend, and I�m desperately trying to hang on to as much as I possibly can. I might be able to scrape together a few bucks to stop somewhere cheap for lunch while shopping Saturday if need be, but there�s no way we can afford to go out to dinner like we usually do when she comes out to the suburbs. Hence the offer to cook.

In spite of the mounting evidence to the contrary, I�m still laboring under the delusion that I�ve got lots of free time under my current school schedule, what with having every Friday, Saturday and Sunday off. What I keep forgetting to factor in is the fact that Monday through Thursday I�m so busy with classes and homework that I can�t get anything done around the house at all. The habit I�ve fallen into is to completely blow off my Fridays playing around and relaxing, and then divide all my errands, homework and what little housework I do between Saturday and Sunday. Which, while not exactly a model plan of ambition and organization, has managed to serve the purpose so far. Except that last week a good chunk of my free time was sucked up with studying for my Paper midterm, and my Saturday was a complete waste due to the all-day power outage. So, I�m just a teensy little bit behind on housecleaning.

Ok, for reals... there is stuff (dishes, trash, books, magazines, art supplies, school stuff, laundry, and much miscellaneous junk) covering every horizontal surface in this apartment, and I need to pick up all thsi crap that�s lying around everywhere and put it away in some sort of organized fashion. I�ve got about three loads of dishes to wash, the kitchen needs scrubbed down, I need to sweep and dust; and even though I could just hide it behind the closed door of our bedroom, it would probably be a good idea to wash and fold at least some of the laundry so that we will not be naked when Friend arrives on Saturday (because she�s not that kind of friend.) I also need to figure out something decent to cook for Saturday�s dinner. The crap we�ve been having lately hasn�t exactly been company fare.

In short, it�s going to take an entire day of housework to even get the place clean enough that I can say �Pardon the mess.� Which normally would be fine with me... nothing like the threat of company to motivate a good thorough housecleaning session! (Although it used to piss me off to no end that when Evil Childe was a toddler, whenever she saw me cleaning the house she�d say, �Who�s coming over, mommy?� Rotten perceptive kid.)

Anyway, like I said, I wouldn�t mind too much about the cleaning except that I forgot to factor in study-time for the comprehensive final exam I have to take on Monday for the dreaded Paper class. Just the outline of what-all we have to know for the test took up four pages in my notebook, and judging from the difficulty I had with the midterm, I�m thinking that a quick review ain�t going to cut it for the final. Before I remembered about my shopping date, I had planned to spend most of my free time this weekend studying (with a little housework, a little relaxation and maybe some hot lovin� thrown in for flavor.)

Now, if you know me at all you probably understand that what that means is that, despite my best intentions, I would of course have wasted my entire Friday playing on the computer, reading, drawing, spending way too long cutting out images from magazines and making my daily collage for my paper journal, and just generally fucking off before doing all my chores on Saturday and then frantically cramming all day Sunday for Monday�s test. Still, a girl needs SOME time to relax, right?

But tomorrow�today, actually, as it is 4 a.m. as I type this since I woke up in the middle of the night, because heaven knows my brain wouldn�t want to do anything drastic like get itself a good night�s sleep before a busy day�today I MUST spend the entire day cleaning the pigsty, and I must also spend the entire day studying, if I hope to have even a pitifully tiny amount of relaxation time on Sunday. This sucks ass. Hard.

I will be so freaking glad when this stupid Paper class is over with next week. Although I can�t fucking believe we�ve got to go back in on Wednesday to go over the final and receive our grade for the class. We�ve never done that in any of my other classes, and quite frankly I don�t give a rat�s ass about what I missed on the final, and my grade will be mailed to me in two weeks anyhow so what do I care about going to class on Wednesday? Except that missing two classes is an automatic F in the class, and I�ve already missed one due to the Great Bus Adventure of last week. Well, I suppose with this guy, it would be a good idea to see my exam... how else will I know if I need to create a stink over the definition of viscosity? I still don�t WANT to go, though. Fucker.

***************

A piece of good news...

I took the midterm for my graphic arts class. It does not exactly bode well when, right before he hands out the test, the instructor says, �Now, there�s probably some stuff on the test that you won�t remember going over in class. Don�t worry about it... most of your grade in this class comes from doing the in-class projects anyhow.� (Dude... why not just flat-out TELL me I don�t have to bother studying for the final?) So I thought maybe the test was going to be harder than I�d anticipated, but it turned out to be a cinch.

Here�s a piece of advice, though... if you�re taking a test in ink (because you are too much of an airhead to remember to bring a pencil) and you come to a question that is so badly worded you have no IDEA what the hell they are trying to ask, and so you decide to write in the answer-space a smart-ass comment about the badly-wordedness of the question because, what the hell, you are going to get the answer wrong anyway... don�t do that. Because the right answer might magically occur to you when you go back and have a second look at it, and then you�d have to scratch out the several lines of sarcastic wit and just hope that the teacher can�t decipher the smart-alecky message that lies underneath all the scratching.

More good news...

I talked to the head of the graphic arts department and she confirmed that I can indeed test out of the Illustrator class, for the low, low price of only $25. The other good news is that, after all my classes are over in mid-august I�ll have ~six whole weeks off~ (fabulous enough news all by itself), during which time I plan to work my way through the teach-yourself Illustrator book. I won�t be able to take the test until mid-September, but that�s not a problem. It�s not a pre-requisite for the computer art class I want to take. I just wanted to make sure my skills were up to snuff before attempting the com art as they give you no technical instruction on the software at all�it�s all about the creativity in that class.

The no-so-fabulous news is that the com art class I want with the design teacher I liked so much from last quarter is only being taught by him on Saturday next quarter, and I don�t know if I want to commit to a Saturday course. But even if I don�t take com art, it�d still be nice to test out of Illustrator just for the sake of saving time and money. Wish I could do that with some of my other classes.

So that�s it... it�s almost 5 a.m. and I�m still wide awake, so I guess maybe I�ll go start on the dishes and get a jump on the day. And if you happen to see me fucking off today, kick my ass, will you? I don�t have TIME for my usual bullshit today. Thanks.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!