Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



It wasn't the short bus, I swear!

2003-07-14 - 6:37 p.m.

Disclaimer

I had a Dollyllama moment today, in which I misread a sign in an odd but humorous way.

Up in the front of the bus I ride to school there is a sign that shows a picture of a man lying flattened on the pavement in front of a bus. Of course the picture is contained in one of those circle/slash things, and the caption reads, �After Exiting, Please Do Not Walk in Front of Bus.� Only I read it as, �After Existing, Please Do Not Walk in Front of Bus.� Which, if you interpret the accompanying picture as that of a man newly flattened just after coming into existence, is pretty darn funny, if you're the type who's easily amused (and obviously I am.)

It's also some pretty damn good advice, come to think of it. Maybe sometimes we do need a reminder that our life is precious and we should be careful with it. (Or maybe one really shouldn�t go around trying to extract deep existential messages out things one misreads on the bus, if one does not wish to sound like a complete loon.)

You know what it reminds me of, though? A long time ago I saw a darkly humorous short film in which a butterfly is valiantly struggling to emerge from its cocoon. After laboring for many long minutes, it finally emerges to the delight of the audience, triumphant and beautiful. It stands there on the end of its twig for just a moment, stretching its glistening wings in the warm spring sunlight, trying to get its bearings in this strange new world--and is quickly snatched up into the beak and down the gullet of a hungry bird, who has no doubt been waiting nearby, gleefully watching the entire struggle and licking whatever is the avian equivalent of chops in anticipation.

This entry really sounds like it might be going somewhere profound, doesn�t it? But no... it�s just a small sample of the weirdo stuff that drifts in and out of my brain all day long. (This is the reason I always answer �Nothing� when the Prince asks me, �So whatcha thinking about?�)

Next thing you know, I�ll be quoting things off bathroom walls. Like the refreshingly blunt message offered by today�s back-of-the-stall-door bulletin: �I like to fuck.�

Ah, what a simple and sincere sentiment. I am reminded anew of the universality of human experience...

Profundity is where you find it.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!