Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Salivating all over my keyboard just can't be good for it

2003-08-07 - 3:23 p.m.

Disclaimer

I added a couple of entries from my former diary to my "About" page, just because I'm sick of seeing the link sitting there with nothing attached to it.

I'd like to add to the "101 Things" entry because I'm sure there must be more than 36 semi-interesting things to say about such a scintillating creature as I; and I also want to do an up-to-date bio at some point. But not today... I've wasted far more time already than I want to admit, and I've still got 12 items left to do today from my 15 item list of daily To Do's.

About this Weight Watchers thing... some days there are just too many hours for the amount of points I'm allotted. Yesterday I went 16 points over, which used up the 12 points I had banked and still put me 4 points in the hole. To stay under points, apparently one may have either a satisfying lunch or dinner, but not both, unless one is willing to give up the idea of snacking completely. Which sounds like it might be do-able, except that seven hours from meal to meal without a little snacky-poo to tide me over tends to make me just a teeny bit cranky.

So today I'm eating lightly to make up for yesterday's oink-fest, and the grum-bellies are not going over any better today than they did yesterday.

I hate dieting. Which is not good, because it has finally sunk in to my fat head that I better find a way to make peace with eating healthy, because even after I lose the weight I'm going to have to eat this way for the rest of my life, give or take a few calories, if I don't want to balloon right back up again. Doing it drastically, gritting my teeth through the feelings of deprivation while I dream of the day I can finally eat normally again just is not going to keep me slim over the long term.

There has got to be room in my life for all those wonderful foods that make eating worthwhile... coconut shrimp, deep-fried catfish, pasta, pork chops, mashed potatoes and gravy, mexican food stuffed with meat and dripping with sour cream and cheese and guacamole, good bread with real butter, eclairs, ice cream, cheesecake... It seems so self-indulgent to think about food in this way, as entertainment, recreation, sensual pleasure--but a life without eating these things on at least a semi-regular basis sounds pretty bleak to me.

I'm going to have to settle into some kind of routine that lets me lose weight without feeling deprived, and SOON. I've now been overweight for almost as many years as I was thin, and that's been pretty bleak too.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!