Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Al Franken makes me wet... my pants.

2003-09-05 - 11:09 a.m.

Disclaimer

Al Franken is my new imaginary boyfriend. He�s funny, smart and his new book �Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them� seriously kicks right-wing Republican propagandist ass. I love that in a guy.

Part satire, part expose', this book disses all the people liberals love to hate... Ann Coulter, Sean Hannity, Bill O�Reilly, Karl Rove, George Dubya... with wit, style and deadly accuracy. With the help of a team of 14 fact-checkers from Harvard, he examines the exaggerations, truth-twisting and outright lies of the Republicans and their evil media minions to point out just where and how they don�t stand up in the cold hard light of the facts.

His tweaking of Bill O�Reilly is pants-pissingly funny. Did you know that Bill O�Reilly is a fiction novelist? Seriously... he wrote a book about a TV newsman/serial killer who exacts revenge on the major players of a news network who he believes have tried to sabotage his career. Al Franken uses this creepy fact, as well as a particularly disturbing passage from Bill�s novel, to hilarious effect.

Al�s book is a fun read, but it�s fun with a purpose. Al believes that in order for liberals to compete with the popularity of conservative attack-radio, they need to use something besides �lies and distortion� as their �value added.� Handing out a few laughs along with your facts is �a way of telling truth that goes down easy.� And it�s true... the wit and humor in this book pulled me along and kept the dryness of all the facts, figures and footnotes at bay while still exposing an awful lot of the serious and unpleasant truth behind the lies coming at us from the White House and the media. I learned and laughed a lot.

Check out this interview of Al Franken on Salon.com. Then get thee to your local bookstore and give this one a read. Maybe even buy it! And tell �em I sent you. Because it�ll be funny when they look at you all sideways and go �huh?�

I�m all about the comedy, yessiree-bob. If I knew any facts, I might write me a book.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!