Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



The daily grind

2003-09-08 - 9:13 a.m.

Disclaimer

Yesterday the four of us were in the car headed to the mall, the Prince and I in the front seat and the Evil Childe and The Boy in the back.

Somehow the conversation between the Prince and I turned to the subject of those two little magic words��yes, dear.� This is apparently the sum total of the relationship wisdom that men have accumulated in god-knows-how-many eons of relating to women, and this sage advice has been passed to the Prince from many sources, including his own father and mine. It hasn�t taken as well in the Prince as it might have in a more prudent individual; however, I continue to work on it.

But for whatever reason we were discussing the subject, and from the backseat the sixteen-year-old Boy said, �Yeah, I just smile and nod a lot, myself.�

The Evil Childe, who fancies herself to be different and a bit superior to the �typical� female, was somewhat offended. �Hey!� she said to The Boy. �I don�t go on and on about stuff, do I?�

�Only if I answer back,� he said.

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Smart boy.

***************

Our big adventure for the weekend was going to the mall to buy the Prince some pants for work. For a sedentary guy, he is surprisingly hard on his clothes. I swear it was just last week (May was last week, right?) that we went out and bought him two new pairs of Docker-like pants for work, yet somehow those �new� pants have developed holes already. Criminy, you�d think he dug ditches for a living or something, instead of sitting at a desk quietly coding away in Java. Maybe the moths in his wallet have been chewing their way to freedom... the holes DO always seem to occur over a pocket.

Usually we go to JCPenney for his work clothes, because it�s close by and the prices are usually decent. But being really short of cash this week (what a surprise), I decided to do a little price research before we headed out to shop. Bless the internet�s digital little heart�however did we live without it all those years? I went to the websites of the three most likely stores to have what we wanted on sale, and discovered that Sears was having a sale on just the kind of clothing we were looking for, and as a bonus they had a $10-off-on-apparel coupon we could print off and use. We wound up getting him two pairs of pants, two nice shirts and a wallet for under $100. Color me pleased. He looked so spiffy this morning, I could have had him for breakfast. Oh, wait, I did that yesterday.

***************

I had to take back some library books to my school library over the weekend as they were threatening me with something (although exactly what remains a mystery, as the text in the email they sent me was bizarrely fucked up.) Being back on campus after weeks away, I realized just how ready I am to go back to school. I MISS the place. I think that I would really like to make my living as a professional student. I know that some people do it, kind of... the Prince has an old friend from high school who used to call him every now and again, who has been in full-time college since graduating high school in the early nineties. I think she�s earned two masters� degrees and is still going strong... I dunno if she�s going for a PhD or if she just collects masters� degrees or what, but what I really want to know is, how does one stay in school for a decade and still manage to eat and buy clothes and stuff? Maybe she�s just a really really smart naked hungry girl.

Anyway, I miss school and I�d be wishing it was time to go back if only I didn�t have so darn much still to do around here. Somehow this weekend my To Do list morphed from being a bunch of �special projects� that I�ve been putting off to being a list of mundane shit that I have little choice but to do over the next few days. Being a cruel and unreasonable sort, I forced the Evil Childe to clean up her room yesterday so I could confirm with my own eyes that a floor really does exist in that room, only to discover that underneath the general mess her carpet is even more fucked up than I imagined. There�s a puddle of hair-gel that soaked in after somebody stepped on the bottle (the brand new, $5 bottle, might I add angrily) and elsewhere a big patch of blue where somebody stepped on a plastic necklace filled with blue pixie-stick-type powder. This I am desperately hoping has not become a permanent part of the carpet already, seeing as how she tried to clean it up by pouring on it straight from the bottle a generous helping of the cleaning solution that�s actually meant to be diluted by a ratio of about 100:1 with water in the carpet steamer. So I really NEED to steam her carpet today, in this brief shining moment in time when I can actually see the floor, and hopefully before these stains set in any further than they already are. But due to the horrible visions I�m having of chunks of carpeting, loosened by their harsh chemical treatment, being sucked up into the steamer as I clean, I can�t say I�m really looking forward to the task.

I also need to clean up the kitchen, as the water soaking the remains of last week�s pork roast out of the crockpot is starting to get a little fragrant; and I need to clean out the fridge so Saturday�s groceries will fit in there a little better and I can actually see what I have. I also need to completely rearrange my tiny pantry so that the rest of Saturday�s groceries, all the canned and dry goods, will actually fit in there in an orderly fashion. And then there�s the bedroom, where all my dirty laundy lives on the floor in a peaceful clusterfuck with a goodly number of my books, as well as various papers, crap and much miscellaneous including the still-partially-packed suitcase I took to Ohio a month ago. Considering I ran out of clean clothes two days ago and the Prince has been throwing a daily fit upon not being able to locate some portion of his wage-earner costume in the dissarray, I reckon it�s high time I mosied in there and did a little sortin� and washin� of clothes. And let�s not forget the general picking up of the apartment...

Fun, fun, fun.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!