Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



A tale of two evils... managed care, and sloth

2003-09-10 - 8:21 a.m.

Disclaimer

So yesterday was a near-total waste. I say "near" because one important thing did get accomplished... I finally found a shrink for the Evil Childe, one who is actually on my insurance plan, and near enough so that not having a car 99% of the time is not going to be a problem. This one is close enough that she could walk there, or take the bus.

This shrink situation has been pissing me off for a long time. Back in Ohio, there were two child psychiatrists for a several-county area... and one died. The waiting list for the remaining guy was at least four months long, and if you didn't happen to like him, tough shit. You could drive an hour to Cleveland or Columbus, and good luck finding someone in your insurance network.

I was all excited when I moved to the big city, thinking that surely there would be some great kid-shrinks in Chicago, and all I'd have to do is a little research to find someone wonderful who could give us the real diagnosis once and for all, and go on to prescribe just the right combination of meds and therapy that would get my kiddo straightened out.

Silly me. I've only found two doctors in the entire area who have stellar reputations--Dr. Not-Taking-New-Patients, and Dr. Not-In-My-Insurance-Network.

So then I went to plan B... find someone who would take us and that the insurance would pay for. And that, my friends, is much easier said than done. We went to one place in downtown Chicago for a consultation only to find out that they expected us to come down there TWICE A WEEK for therapy and a group session... starting at four in the afternoon. Yeah, that's going to fly with me not having a car handy, not to mention that I was working til 4 every day. Four hundred bucks is what this waste of time cost us.

Then I found someone closer who I thought was in plan but we didn't find out until after our first appointment that she wasn't, and so we went through another useless ninety-minute intake to the tune of 'only' $200 this time.

Meanwhile, the kid decided to go off her meds and seemed to be doing ok, especially with the new school. The only reason getting a shrink had been urgent was for med refills, and since we didn't need them any more, I just gave up on finding someone. It's not like counseling ever seemed to do her any good anyway.

But now she feels like her moods are out of whack, and so I called the network to find someone in plan, and this time they actually had someone close by. Hopefully the kid gets some good out of it... it's going to cost a nice little chunk of change even after the insurance pays, money we can ill afford what with me not working and the child support situation still not completely straightened out. Don't get me wrong... I'd scrub toilets to pay for her treatment if it was really helping her, it's just that it's always seemed like time and money being poured down a hole for all the good it has ever done her. And yesterday she talked the shrink out of putting her back on meds just yet, so all we're left with is counseling.

It doesn't look good. We no sooner got out the door from the appointment yesterday when the Evil One rolled her eyes at me and said, "Well, I'm wasn't impressed, how bout you?" She thinks the shrink is creepy.

I only hope she responds better to the guy she'll actually be getting the counseling from... otherwise I might as well be using the hundred-dollar-bills I'll be spending to wipe my ass for all the good we'll be getting out of it.

Anyway, yesterday was a waste otherwise because I just didn't feel all that great. Head-achy, stomach-achy, tired, sore all over, and to top it all off, a big painful zit under my left arm. Instead of getting anything accomplished I slept the entire morning away, when I wasn't eating a bunch of high-points crap in an attempt to make my stomach stop doing flip-flops.

And yeah, it's going on a few days of not doing much and the place is starting to get decidedly funky. I do a load of dishes every day but apparently one load is not enough as I never seem to be caught up enough to get down to bare kitchen, which means I haven't actually cleaned up in there for a few days. P-U about covers that.

And still there are groceries to be put away, and a bedroom to clean, and bills to be paid, and all this on top of the general picking up and dusting and vacuuming that needs to be done. My big Goals list has completely fallen by the wayside. At the rate I'm going, not only will I not have gotten myself all organized over my break, I'll be deeper in general filth and decay than I was when I started.

Unless of course, I stop boring you people and get the hell off of here and DO something, for crying out loud. So, off I go.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!