Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Responsibility beckons... I shrink back in horror

2003-10-06 - 5:42 a.m.

Disclaimer

I dropped a bunch of really nice folks from my buddies list this morning. I never like to do that, because I know when someone drops me I always have at least a moment of wondering why... why, why, WHY??? Aren't I funny or interesting enough to command five stinking minutes of your tiny little flea-bitten attention span a lousy couple of times a week? Well, AREN'T I???? Answer me bitch!

Uh... sorry. Got sidetracked for a second.

I truly liked each and every one of the people I took off my list today. That's the problem... see, I've been spending way too much time online lately. I know you can't tell that by how often I update, but I do spend an awful lot of time reading diaries and message boards, sometimes just sitting here for hours pathetically clicking in and out of my favorite sites waiting for someone to finally update. This, my friends, has become a problem.

I've got a lot on my plate right now, and I'm fixing to take on another big ol' scoop of taters. Maybe.

I'm thinking about taking a part-time job.

I know, I know, make up my mind already! When I'm working, I'm miserable because I hate my job and hate the time crunch. But when I'm not working, I get increasingly anxious and miserable about the money situation. And believe me, the money thing is sucking ass right about now.

I don't even know if I can find a part-time job, but I think now would be the best time to start looking. Retailers should be putting on at least some extra help for Christmas. I plan to apply to the bookstores first as I've always wanted to work in one, and if that doesn't seem to be panning out I've got another few places in mind.

I'm really nervous about how well this would work out with school and family stuff, but I don't see a whole lot of other options right now.

Anyway, I'm still in the thinking-about stage and may ultimately decide that a job is not going to be doable. But regardless, I feel like I need to get my internet addiction under control.

To that end, I have cut my buddies list to the bone. The people I left on are mostly ones to whom I feel a connection... those whose lives I've been following for so long they feel like friends, even though in some cases we may have never exchanged so much as a single personal email. A few newer favorites have stayed because, even though I haven't been reading them long enough to become personally attached, they are just so damn entertaining I can't help myself.

People I cut from the list are all terrific diarists and I enjoyed them all, but maybe just hadn't been reading long enough to feel connected. Yet I know that seeing their names light up in red on my buddies list would compel me to click and read in spite of my better judgement telling me I've got more important things to do OFFLINE. So... I simply removed a little temptation from my view.

I'm not certain how much I'll be updating here, either. I'd like to shoot for a couple of times a week, but I have a feeling if I start working I may not have a lot of time. Of course, I may just be inspired to dash off some really snarky work-related rants too. Ya never know.

But for someone who is concerned about spending too much time online, I've sure spent long enough on here babbling about it. I gotta go take a shower and get my ass to school.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!