Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Art, art, let a fart...

2003-10-12 - 1:39 p.m.

Disclaimer

Takin' a break from the all-homework, all-the-time weekend to get a fix of caffeine and chocolate. Sugar-free fudgesicles are a dieting girl's best chocolate friend. Only one teeny tiny little point per serving of chocolatey frosty goodness on a stick.

I have been sickeningly productive this weekend. Yesterday morning I gave the kitchen a good cleaning and then headed to the computer lab at school to catch up on some projects for the QuarkX and Illustrator classes. I sure didn't get as much done as I expected to in five hours! I'm not sure if I'm a slow learner or just a mega-perfectionist. I know that spending too much time on the picky details would be counterproductive in the real world, but in School World I'm not really sure just how picky I should be to keep from getting in trouble with the teacher.

I actually said those words to the Prince the other night, that I didn't want to "get in trouble with the teacher." And I'm fully aware of how ridiculous it sounds for someone my age to say that, but there it is. Where the hell did all this conscientiousness come from all of a sudden? I used to be such a rebel, all skipping school and smoking in the bathroom and shit. Of course, back then I wasn't paying money out of my own pocket to be there either. (I seriously thought they should be paying me to come.)

But anyway, I did get one particularly aggravating assignment completed yesterday and I got a good start on two others. I may go in early on Tuesday and see how much further I can get. I also finally picked out some artwork for my final Illustrator project, which sounds like it should have been simple enough to do but it had to be a particular KIND of artwork and naturally, everything that looked even vaguely interesting to me was the wrong kind. So I'm quite happy to have the matter settled.

After I got home last night I cooked up a mean sweet-and-sour chicken stir-fry, much to the delight of the fam, who I suspect were getting heartily sick of my delicious green bean soup after four days straight of eating from the big pot of it I made last week. Cleaned up the kitchen again, watched a movie with the Prince (Boat Trip, very funny and lots of nice titties to ogle,) and then stayed up until three a.m. with the Prince coaching me on the html for a simple but uncooperative website layout which took half the night before I finally kicked its ass.

Got back up at seven this morning, watched another movie with the Prince (Outside Providence, GREAT movie but it suffered a little from all of Comedy Central's censoring of the swear words.) And then I tore myself away from Best in Show to go take a shower because I STANK, bad-like.

And now I must get back to the task at hand--a tonal drawing of a glass of water, due tomorrow. I am actually being a bit of a rebel on this one... we're supposed to use charcoal, but I'm being a naughty girl and using pencil instead. Because I hate fucking charcoal, that's why. Nasty, dirty, un-erasable CRAP is what charcoal is. And that's not all... not only am I using the wrong medium, I'm also using the wrong size paper! Because I hate those big-ass freaking drawing tablets she makes us use. Too much space to cover, and it's hard to get the proportions right when you have to draw a drinking glass as big as a small child in order to get it to fill up the paper. Am I going to art hell or what?

Well, I am if I don't get back to the drawing board. The caffeine and chocolate should start rushing into my veins any minute now, and I wouldn't want to miss a potential burst of inspiration.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!