Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Stuff and nonsense

2003-12-08 - 5:35 p.m.

Disclaimer

I am far too brain-dead to attempt a real entry today. Every single last brain cell I own is lying prostrate on the mat and crying �Uncle!� Not in a dirty way, either-just in a plain old tired way.

These past few weeks have been ruled by complicated final projects for three of my classes, and punctuated with time consuming drawing assignments. I�ve spent more time in the computer lab after school hours and on weekends than I�ve spent at home.

Two of the projects are finally done and turned in. My report and presentation on color trends went well, and I�m pretty sure I�ll get a decent grade on them. And the newsletter I designed in Quark Express was handed back today with 222 points earned out of 230... an A minus, maybe? Whatever, I�m thrilled shitless because I sweated big bloody bullets over the damn thing. The third project�a calendar created in Illustrator�is very nearly done, thanks to a seven-hour stretch in the lab yesterday. I still have one more artistic element to add to it before I turn it in tomorrow, but it�s done to the point that I could turn it in even without that final touch and still get a decent grade.

I also did a self-portrait for drawing class over the weekend, and I was rather pleased with the way it turned out. The other students in my class also seemed to think it was pretty good. My drawing teacher said it was �stiff.� I hate my drawing teacher.

The rest of this week will be all about studying for finals. Four tests in two days. Come Friday, I�m going to be drooling what�s left of my brain down the front of my shirt.

In lieu of a real entry, which the above sort of was but mostly wasn�t, I�d like instead to regale you with a little survey lifted from the Luscious Lovely Lady M herself.

Enjoy. Or not.

[five six a bunch of songs that have been stuck in your head lately]

1. Amsterdam, by Guster

2. Calling All Angels, by Train

3. Closer to Fine, by the Indigo Girls

4. Extraordinary, by Liz Phair

5. Here Without You, by 3 Doors Down

6. Various songs from the Foo Fighters CD �One by One�

[four beverages you drink frequently]

1. Diet Vanilla Coke

2. Canfield sparkling water

3. Sam�s Choice bottled water

4. Coffee

[five tv shows you liked when you were a little kid]

1. Speed Racer

2. Bewitched

3. I Dream of Jeannie

4. Brady Bunch

5. The Partridge Family

[four places you go most often in your neighborhood]

1. Jewel

2. 7-11

3. Yorktown Mall

4. Hobby Lobby

[four things to do when you're bored]

1. Surf the �net

2. Read

3. Draw

4. Masturbate

[four things that never fail to cheer you up]

1. Snuggling with the Prince

2. Walking into Borders and smelling the books and coffee

3. Watching the cats fight

4. A clean apartment

[four things you cannot live without (other than the basic necessities)]

1. My family

2. Books

3. The Internet

4. Chipotle�s

[about ten years ago...]

1. I was married to Dick.

2. I was raising two teenage brothers in addition to my then-six-year-old daughter.

3. I was working at a fast food restaurant, and feeling bad that I couldn�t move into management because I wasn�t free to work second shift.

4. I had a huge crush on a girl.

[about two years ago...]

1. I was working at Keebler as a clerk in the HR department, and hating it.

2. I was depressed beyond belief over September 11.

3. I was worried as hell about my kiddo because she wasn�t getting along with her stepmother, but we weren�t yet in a position to have her move up to live with us.

4. I had nearly given up on the idea of going to school because I didn�t know what I wanted to be.

[about one year ago...]

1. I decided graphic arts sounded interesting, and enrolled in my first class.

2. My marriage was on really shaky ground.

3. The Evil Childe started at the alternative school after several hell-weeks of doing really badly at the regular high school.

4. I was between temp jobs, and we were really worried about money.

[today...]

1. I made a pretty cool collage in my drawing class.

2. I restrained myself from throttling one of my teachers, the one who can�t just give us a quick review for the final exam but must re-teach the entire quarter in the process, as well as yammering on and on about a bunch of stuff that isn�t even on the test nor in any way relevant to the class�this after telling us it would be a quick class and we�d probably be done way early. We weren�t.

3. I am going to spend some time doing something not-school-related this evening. Probably read.

4. I feel fat.

[seven things you love]

1. The Prince

2. The Evil Childe

3. The Stupid Cats

4. Juxtapoz magazine

5. Adobe Illustrator

6. My sparkly toenail polish

7. Bailey�s in coffee

[seven things you hate]

1. George Bush & Co.

2. Conspicuous consumption.

3. People who NEVER bring the stuff they�re supposed to bring for class and always want to borrow yours... SHANNON.

4. Whoever the fuck keeps calling here multiple times a day whose number comes up �unknown� on the caller ID.

5. Chase Visa. (See #4)

6. Any substance that originated on the inside of a cat that has emerged to the outside.

7. People who stand outside of stores and hit me up for money, such as Salvation Army volunteers and kids selling stuff for school.

[seven things on your desk at work] Well, since I have no work, and no designated desk at school, we�ll go with what is on the desk at home.

1. Computer monitor, with filthy screen.

2. Five empty popcans, none of which were mine.

3. Five empty cups, all of which were probably mine.

4. An empty Pringles can.

5. Two empty bowls.

6. A paper plate of crumbs.

7. An avalanche of paper overflowing from a plastic basket.

Yeah, I need to clean again, real bad.

[six facts about you]

1. I eat sushi 4-5 times per week. Salmon is my favorite, with or without avocado. Tuna is my second favorite.

2. I light candles and listen to Gregorian chants when I study. It helps me to calm down and focus.

3. I don�t own a poker face. Whatever I�m feeling or thinking is right out there on my face. Ask Lady M.

4. I have stacks of books I haven�t read yet. If I see a book that looks interesting, I�ll buy it even if I don�t have time to read it because I�m afraid I�ll forget about it.

5. I hate playing cards. I also hate playing Monopoly. My favorite games are Trivial Pursuit, Jenga, Scrabble, and Boggle.

6. I�m afraid of the dark.

[five traits you like in members of the opposite sex]

1. Humor

2. Intelligence

3. Tall

4. A limber tongue

5. A giant schlong

[four things you would eat on the last day of your life]

1. Coconut shrimp

2. Baked potato smothered in butter and sour cream

3. Garlic-cheddar cheese biscuits

4. Tiramisu

[four cds from your collection that you will never get tired of]

1. Rock Spectacle (Barenaked Ladies)

2. The Globe Sessions (Sheryl Crow)

3. Secret Samadhi (Live)

4. Brushfire Fairytales (Jack Johnson)

[three celebrities you would have sex with-following Lady M�s lead, I�ve redefined this category to just celebrities in general, rather than specifying music or movie celebs]

1. Jim Morrison�but alive, preferably.

2. Catherine Zeta-Jones

3. Salma Hayak

[four things you'd like to learn]

1. Spanish

2. French

3. Painting

4. Jewelry making








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!