Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Living on the edge

2004-01-18 - 8:28 a.m.

Disclaimer

The good news is, I found my comfy bra the same day I wrote the last entry, at Fashion Bug and for only $14.

The bad news is... well, how long have ya got?

On Friday the Prince was regretfully informed by his boss that if they don�t find a project for him in the next few days, Thursday will be his last day. Yeah, THIS Thursday. No mention of severance pay either... the Prince strongly suspects that their having kept him on the bench this long (basically getting paid for doing nothing for the better part of two months) WAS his �severance pay.� His resume has been submitted by them for a couple of contracts, but nothing that seems real promising. So there�s a good possibility we might be joining the ranks of the unemployed in less than a week. Thank you, India.

No, I don�t have any idea how we�re going to get through this. We�ve got a full check coming on the 20th and a partial check coming on the 5th... possibly some vacation pay... and a few hundred bucks in the bank, the remainder of my school loan check. We may or may not be getting a hefty tax refund (but even if we do it�s going to piss me off to have to spend it on bills, because we had planned to use it for a new computer.)

I�m dropping two of my classes, and hopefully switching the remaining two to evenings and Saturdays so I�ll have my weekdays free to work. I�m going to look into my school�s cooperative education program and hopefully they can find me something in my field of study�it�d be great to actually use my new skills and get some work experience for my resume. But meanwhile I�m going to call my old temp service and see if they can set me up with something.

So ok, I guess I DO have an idea how we�re going to get through this. I�m pretty sure the Prince is eligible for unemployment since, even though he is a contractor, he is actually a full-time employee of the contracting firm. And between that and the money I can pull in if I can find a job, we should be able to squeak by for a while if we live really frugally. Believe it or not, I can DO frugal when the chips are down. And I�m pretty sure the Prince�s parents would be willing to help if it comes down to it, though hitting them up for money is an option I�ll be working hard to avoid.

Looking at the online job search places it does seem like there are quite a few jobs ads in the Prince�s field posted there... but I suppose each one is getting 50,000 responses. One good thing is, his company told him they will continue to submit his name for projects as requests for bids come in... it�s not like he�s been a bad employee or anything, they just can�t afford to keep paying him to sit on the bench... so it�s possible that might lead to something as well.

We�ve got quite a few potential avenues to explore, and hopefully some of them will turn out not to be dead ends or dark alleys.

When disaster looms, my natural inclination is to get busy and do whatever it takes to get things back under control... but there is really not a lot more I can do about the situation this weekend. I�ve withdrawn from my classes and left messages regarding getting admitted to the night and weekend classes. I do need to update my resume, and get my working wardrobe in order.

Other than that, my number one goal is to get this #@#$@% apartment cleaned up! Yeah, it STILL looks exactly like the photos I posted. Shame on me! But I NEED to clean so I can get the bills notebook organized, since I suspect I�m in for some world-class juggling action in the very near future. Plus I need the kitchen clean so I can start cooking again, and oh, basically I just need the whole thing cleaned just because it bugs me. And also because our washer is on its last legs and I need to call maintenance to fix or replace it but I�m afraid to. But the washer�s problem is that it�s not spinning the clothes very well, and I�ve been spinning each load twice and they�re still not coming out nearly as dry as they should be, and I know this is overworking the dryer which is costing us a shitload of money for electricity, and money has suddenly become a less easily renewable resource than it used to be.

So it�s off I go to do the good little housewife thing. I hope I remember how.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!