Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Encouraging news

2004-01-21 - 7:24 p.m.

Disclaimer

I sat down and worked out our budget yesterday. Based on the money we have now plus the Prince�s next two checks plus the child support checks that should be coming, it looks like if we stiff our credit card companies, cut off cable and one of the phones but not the Internet, commit to eating cheap and not spending anything at all for entertainment, we can make it to the end of February. Then I guess we just have to die.

Unless by some miracle the Prince gets his first unemployment check by then, or better yet I find a decent job AND the the Prince gets his first unemployment check; or better still, we BOTH get jobs. Which, while far from likely, is at least beginning to seem somewhat within the realm of possibility...

See, the Prince put his resume online yesterday afternoon, and within hours he was contacted by two different recruiters for positions they had open. One position turned out to be one he�d interviewed for a few weeks ago and didn�t get called back for. The other position, however, is as near-perfect a fit with his skills as it�s possible to get. The downside is, it�s a contract job that will only last from 2-5 months; and we�d have to pay an exorbitant amount of money to buy our own family health insurance. The upside is that the job pays enough more money so that we�d still break about even to what he�s making now. The job is in a little town about 20 minutes north of here (which translates to about an hour�s commute during rush hour.) The recruiter who is pitching it to him sounds very confident that the company will want to hire him after they�ve interviewed him. And there is a good chance that, once the contract ends, that the new consulting company will want to hire him on. Sounds pretty promising, doesn�t it?

Here�s where things start to get bizarre. I finally got approval to rearrange my class schedule, so starting next week I�m free to take a daytime job. I spent a little bit of time today updating my resume, posting it online to several job sites, and doing some online job searching while I was there. I�ve been looking at secretarial/receptionist/clerical type stuff, since what I�d really like to find is a full-time position with insurance, which will keep us from having to pay the above-mentioned exorbitant insurance premium (or save the Prince�s parents from paying for the costly COBRA coverage for us.) Anyway, just for shits and giggles I added the word �graphics� to my keyword search, along with �receptionist� and �clerical� and �administrative assistant�; and I came up with a recently-posted receptionist/admin position for a graphics company... in the same little town the Prince�s promising job lead is in! So I emailed them my resume, and within an hour they called me and scheduled me for an interview tomorrow.

To recap�the day before the Prince is to lose his current job:

He�s up for a job he is totally qualified for, that would pay more money than he currently makes, if he didn�t have to pay for insurance.

I have an interview for a job that I am totally qualified for, which also happens to be in the field I am currently training for.

The job I am interviewing for offers �competitive pay and benefits� meaning, most likely, health insurance.

Both jobs just happen to be in the same town, which means the Prince and I could share a ride.

I know that the odds against all this working out in our favor are astronomical, but just the fact that we got THISCLOSE to having everything work out beautifully is simply mind-boggling. I�m trying not to get my hopes up too high, because if things fall through I�m going to feel like the guy who was one number off the lottery on the night of the big jackpot. But damn... wouldn�t it be groovy if it all just fell into place?

Well, whether it works out as planned or not, it�s still pretty damn encouraging that we�ve both gotten responses to our resumes within HOURS of posting them. It�s a lot better than the horror stories we were hearing all last year of people sending out hundreds of resumes and not getting any calls at all. Maybe things are picking up!








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!