Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Mom on warpath

2004-02-15 - 7:18 a.m.

Disclaimer

You hear that? The sound of much weeping, wailing and dragging of feet? Oh wait... you probably don't hear it yet, but you will. You will.

See, the Evil Childe's room is a smelly disgusting pit and I have reached the point of having had All I Can Standz, And I Can't Standz No More. I have a To Do list that fills up a full legal-pad sized page, and guess whose initials are penciled in alongside most of those items? Let's just say someone whose initials for purposes of this diary are E.C. is not going to be very happy. The P. is not going to be particularly thrilled either, as we're going to need him to help with moving the heavy stuff the hell out of my way so I can clean the carpet.

Now that I'm all fired up about this, I am itching to wake everybody up and start cracking the whip. Which I'm sure would be a decidedly bad idea, but it's just so hard for a morning person like me to be raring to go at 7:30 in the morning and have to wait around for my night owls to roll out of bed at 10ish and then wait around for another couple of hours or so until they've "had a chance to wake up" before we can actually get down to business. Hell, by then we're cutting into my nap time! But I know I'll have about zero chance of cooperation if I don't show some restraint... but it hurts me. It truly does.

I also have a To Buy list, of cleaning supplies and organizing bins and garbage bags and a TV stand to replace the entertainment center in the Evil One's room. Just thinking about that thing pisses me off... I had been wanting some sort of shelving for her room and then magically one day when I was leaving for work, there appeared a very nice faux wood entertainment center in the cast-off area around the corner from the front door of our building. It was a little bit scratched on the side that would be facing the wall anyway, but other than that it was in decent shape, so we immediately snatched it out of the trash pile and hauled it into our humble abode. It was perfect for holding the Evil One's TV, books, collections and whatnot, and sturdy enought that I stupidly optimistically thought it would make a nice addition to a first apartment, should my little budding sponge ever get motivated to get her own place. Ha! She'd had it no more than a week when I discovered she'd carved grafitti all over it, no more than a month when she'd broken one of the doors to the little cubbyhole-thing, and within several weeks more she'd torn off big strips of the wood veneer. Who, me, pissed off? Ooooooooooh yes. But, the poor defaced thing still did serve my purpose of keeping her TV off the floor, and her purpose of providing a multitude of horizontal surfaces on which to store junk, trash and filth, so I just let it stay.

But recently, she inherited a much larger TV, which doesn't fit on the entertainment center anywhere and so is sitting on the floor in front of the great hulking eyesore, rendering it obsolete. So, it is with great (sadness? Glee? Nah... just resignation, I guess) that today we will be hauling the much-abused entertainment center back to the trashpile from whence it came. But that's later... after the Evil One has had three bowls of oatmeal, eaten at a snails pace; and four showers, and six changes of outfit, and put on full makeup and talked on the phone to three different people for several hours each; and after the Prince has had 12 cigarettes and 15 cups of coffee and a box of frosted flakes, eated dry, one flake at a time while he reads his way through four paperback novels and half the Internet and a forty-minute poop.

Hell... if I thought I could go back to sleep, I'd go back to bed for awhile, but it seems that I'm only sleepy as long as I'm trying to do something entertaining like reading or surfing the 'net. As soon as I lie down and close my eyes, a million and one thoughts start swirling around in my head, none of them particularly pleasant.

I guess I'll get cleaned up and go do at least some of my shopping. If I go to Jewel first, maybe by the time I'm done Walmart will be open, and by the time I'm done there Petsmart will be open, and by the time I get home the family should be ripe for plucking from their beds.

It's tough to be the early bird when everyone else is geared to a more leisurely schedule of up-getting and work-doing, dammit. My whip hand is getting all twitchy.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!