Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



In case you were wondering

2004-03-03 - 12:45 a.m.

Disclaimer

Keeping up with this diary is a whole lot like keeping up with the dishes. I�m never motivated to do the dishes when there�s only a couple of bowls and spoons sitting there in the sink, and then a few more build up and I still don�t feel like it, and finally the sink, countertop, stovetop and FLOOR is being overtaken by dirty dishes and at that point it�s just completely overwhelming and then I let it go for a few more days while we ignore the smell and eat all our meals out; because once you reach the point where all your dishes are dirty, you don�t have to worry about the mess getting any bigger.

Well, there�s an analogy that got away from me. I was actually on my way to saying how it�s the same with updating the diary. Little tidbits and snippets of interesting or weird or funny stuff come to me all the time, but I�m never motivated to actually sit down and do an entry based on one little snippet; so I wait, thinking that when I have two or three snippets, THAT�s when the time is ripe for an entry, but then I still don�t feel like it; and then the next thing you know eight days have gone by and I�d have to write a book, starting from scratch to boot, because all the little snippets I thought I�d been saving? Long gone, all of them.

Recap of the previous week (condensed version): mostly boring, depressed over the job situation, slogging through classes totally unenthused and uninspired; then terrible horrible stress over the weekend due to a job offer that actually came but turned out not to be exactly what we expected. We had some seriously angsty moments over the insurance paperwork... it was confusing to say the least (and I used to interpret insurance paperwork for a living!) and my initial impressions were that this was the absolute crappiest insurance I�d ever seen. Like, huge deductible, mental health not covered, Prince�s hundreds-of-dollars-per-month drug habit not covered terrible. Also there was a weird non-competition clause in the employment contract that stated that the Prince would not be allowed to work for a computer consulting company for 12 months after leaving this job. Uh... so what�s he gonna do, work for them for four months and then flip burgers for a year? Not quite what he thought he was signing up for.

This all came to light on Friday, long after his new employer was closed, and he had agreed to start on Monday. So all weekend we agonized about the situation... what are we gonna do if... and maybe they would let you... and what if they don�t... can we afford to take a job that, worse-case scenario being that the insurance doesn�t cover what we need it to cover, we won�t actually be able to live on? And should he go ahead and show up for work at the job site on Monday, not knowing if he�d be able to take the job or not? The entire weekend I couldn't figure out which I wanted to do more--cry or throw up. Neither of us slept all that much either.

After two days of playing phone and email tag with his new boss, the Prince was allowed to scratch out the offending non-competition clause, and more phone tag produced a live conversation with a benefits person who assured the Prince that, while the insurance is indeed fairly sucky, it�s not the disaster we�d been fearing. Everything we need covered will be covered, after the exhorbitant deductible has been met. (Oddly, this company refers to the deductible as a �safety net�... sounds rather comforting until you realize it�s there to keep the insurance company�s money safe rather than the customer�s actual physical body. Why don�t they just be honest and call it a �screw-you net?�)

Although we�re somewhat relieved to hear that, I think we�re still going to be a little worried until we actually have an insurance card in hand. Because the paperwork wants all kinds of detailed information about our various ailments including doctor name, address and date of diagnosis... like I�m going to remember all that shit from when my PCOS was diagnosed 14 years ago? Criminy. I'm just hoping that they're not allowed to turn people down. Group insurance usually isn't, I don't think, but then again we're dealing with a company that tries to fool you into thinking their deductible is some kind of warm fuzzy. Let's just say I'm a little leery yet.

The whole insurance mess might be a non-issue if only I could find a job that provides benefits, but alas my own job search is not going well. Not a lot of entry level graphic arts positions out there, and the two I�ve interviewed for so far have not called me back for a second round. The last job I interviewed for would have been a great opportunity, and I thought the phone interview went pretty well; but I suppose they probably had a million bazillion resumes seeing as how every graphic arts graduate in Chicago has had a grand total of two jobs to choose from over the past few weeks. Yeah, those are some great odds for me, huh?

Anyway. In spite of all my best intentions, I�ve mostly pissed away the last month or so because I�ve been too depressed to get up to much. The Prince too. It has been rather gratifying to discover that, even depressed and with no money to do anything fun, we still enjoy each other�s company and don�t get on each other�s nerves even being together 24/7 for a month. I�ve really missed hanging out with him the past two days.

So that�s what�s been going on. Hopefully things will settle down for us now, and we can have a life that consists of more than watching �Newlyweds� reruns and bad 80�s movies. And maybe some of my snippets could be lighthearted and amusing for a change, and I�ll write them here every day or so for your entertainment. Or not. You know how I am.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!