Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



First day recap

2004-03-08 - 9:27 p.m.

Disclaimer

Long day with very little sleep last night (thank you, nerves.) I'm sleepy now, and stiff and sore from yesterday's hard work, getting the house cleaned up so the mainenance people could come in and unclog the potties. (Yes, somehow both potties were clogged, I think they must be connected in the plumbing somewhere.) Hard work, but I'm glad it's done. Both the cleaning, and the unclogging I mean. It's nice to have both the toilets and the floors in usable condition.

The first day on the job went pretty well. Coworkers are civil, several are better than civil, downright nice even, and lots of senses of humor in evidence. Thank goodness. It sucks to work for people who take themselves too seriously.

The job itself is pretty much as expected... semi-busy switchboard, similar to ones I've used in the past but just idiosyncratic enough to make me look like an idiot for the first hour or so. Looks like there will also be plenty of busywork at some point when I get used to the phone, some stuff on the computer that I don't have access to right now. I did my good little temp routine, getting out from under my trainer's thumb as quickly as possible and then asking for work to do in between phone calls; and received several stacks of filing as a reward, which was infinitely better than staring at the wall between phone calls.

I get the impression that this would be a nice company to work for permanently, and the lady who trained me, the senior admin, told me they were looking for someone permanent and wondered if I was even interested... you know, in case they liked me and I liked them, would I be interested in being considered? So of course I told her yes. I also got the impression they are in no hurry to start interviewing other people for the job... she acted like she expected me to be there for awhile... so I don't think I have to worry about them giving the job away out from under me before they have a chance to get to know me.

Initial impression: I think there may be potential in this job.

And it makes me feel all kinds of better to be earning a paycheck again.

Well, I thought I had more to write, but I'm really sleepy so I'm off to bed.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!