Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Prove my point, why don't ya?

2004-03-16 - 9:08 p.m.

Disclaimer

So. For the past two years, every time clothes-shopping season comes around--usually the beginning of school and the beginning of summer--the Evil Childe has begged, pleaded, wheedled, whined, and argued for me to hand her the allotted amount of cash and turn her loose at the mall to do her clothes shopping by herself.

It's the same damn argument every time, and even though she knows my reasons inside and out, she insists on making me recite and defend them. Basically, since I don't have a lot of money to spend on clothes for her, I want to make sure we get the most for the money, and that the stuff she gets is practical everyday wear. If left to her own devices, I have little doubt she'd shoot the whole wad on one pair of obscenely tight jeans, a pair of kick-ass boots she can't walk more than six steps in, and a skirt the size of a coffee filter. She, of course, SWEARS she won't... but I don't have the kind of money where I can afford to take the chance.

Tonight though, she finally got her chance to prove to me she could be trusted to shop for herself. She "forgot" to tell me until Sunday night that she needed a semi-dressy outfit for her choir concert on Wednesday. She was busy on Monday night and I had finals tonight, so since I didn't have time to take her shopping, I reluctantly gave her sixty bucks so she and The Boy could go to the mall and get her something. She swore, SWORE! that she would buy something appropriate. And I thought she might just, seeing as how she knew it would be a test for whether she'd ever be allowed to shop for her own self again.

So I picked her up from the mall after I got out of class, and asked her what she bought. Are you ready for this? On her first, trial run, the one where she was going to prove her maturity and responsibility... for her dressy choir-concert, she bought herself a skin-tight, baseball-style T-shirt with the word "Juggalette" stamped across her straining bosom.

I'm not even mad... just kind of incredulous that she would so blatantly mess up an opportunity to earn herself some trust points towards something she's wanted so badly for a long time.

This is a kid whose IQ is supposed to be above average. I swear I just don't see it.

Hell, if nothing else, I thought she'd have come back with something totally appropriate just for the pleasure of proving me wrong.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!