Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Happy happy, joy joy

2004-03-21 - 6:20 a.m.

Disclaimer

I love my new haircut. Turns out that the way to get your hair to lay nice? Is to stop cutting it yourself, and go pay a fairly large sum of money to a person who has graduated from an actual School of Haircutting and is now employed at a place where women with Very Nice Hair go to have theirs cut.

Beforehand, I had agonized over what I wanted to have her do with my hair. One option was to have her whack off about 4 inches to get the bottom evened up all around; another was to have her take a little less length and just even it up as best she could. After much anxious wavering, I chose the second option and we settled upon "no more than 2 inches." But somewhere in the middle of cutting my hair, she off-handedly mentioned she had to take off "a little more" to even it up, because my hair was so uneven at the ends.

"A little more" turned out to be about 5 inches. She took me from near waist length to barely bra-strap length. I probably should be mad at her, but my hair looks so much better that I just want to have her come live with me and blow me every morning of my life, with her magic hair dryer and mysterious potions and big flat brush.

She also talked me into a tiny bit of layering at the ends, and I like this so well that I'll probably have her do a little more when I go back next time. Yes, I do believe I'm jumping on the bandwagon of regular haircuts, and giving up my quest for ass-length hair. My new cut is long enough to satisfy the Prince, yet it has enough shape and movement to make me look like a normal person who actually gives a shit about the way they look.

The way I've been carrying on about it you might think I've gotten something fabulously trendy and dramatic. It's not... it's just a straight, below-shoulder-length, almost-blunt cut with a little layering at the ends. It's not even worth posting a picture of, because it's a totally unremarkable cut... unless you know how bad it looked before.

Even sitting here with terrible bed-head, I am very happy with my hair today.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!