Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Midnight ramblings

2004-03-24 - 1:45 a.m.

Disclaimer

My brilliant plan for the evening has totally backfired.

Going to bed at 7:15 seemed like a fine idea at the time, even though Plan A had been to get cracking on the pre-in-laws-visit housecleaning that needs desperately to be cracked upon. But I was just So Tired, and really sort of bored with the whole idea of cleaning, and so my tired mind hatched an inspired Plan B in which I would go to sleep at 7ish and wake up around 3ish and get stuff done around the house. (Which is not as horrifyingly unreasonable as it may sound to normal folks... I usually get up around 4:30ish anyway.)

Which would have worked out all fine and stuff, except that I woke up at 12:45ish with a backache and a nose full of cemented-in boogies and desperately needing a pee, and by the time I got all that dealt with, I was wide awake. And here it is nearly 2ish, and I'm still not feeling inspired to clean.

The parents-in-law are due in the weekend after next so you'd think that would be plenty of time to clean, but The Plan calls for me (us) to have all the picking up and putting away done by this weekend so we can start the deep cleaning portion of the program. The de-cat-hairification, the dusting, the cleaning of the carpets and windows and walls... all stuff I wanted to do anyway but has fallen by the wayside what with school and work and the non-ambition of my longest winter depression to date.

I'm just not really in the mood, is all. I've got this one measly week of no classes before I start in on what is probably going to be a fairly grueling quarter, starting next Tuesday. I'm taking the capstone class for desktop publishing that claims to pull together everything I've learned so far into what I am guessing will be one giant project; and I am taking the advanced Illustrator class as well, which means three entire evenings I'll be in class during the week.

I expect I'm not going to enjoy any of this. Particularly since working in a graphic arts related job, I've learned that the industry has indeed been in a three-year slump, and no one is doing any hiring; and anyway, the technology is moving so fast that a lot of what I'm learning is practically obsolete now, never mind when I graduate in a year or so.

So now I'm really hoping to get hired on this job, and I wish they'd hurry up and make up their minds about it. We really need another car, since this whole sharing thing is getting really old, considering we work nowhere near each other now, and neither of us is on a bus route; but I don't want to commit the money to buying one until I know I've got the job. Putting a couple thou of our hard-to-come-by cash towards a decent used car would be a great investment only if I'm going to be gainfully employed for awhile--otherwise I think we'd be better off hanging onto the money.

Anyway, I'm boring myself shitless here, and still not making any headway towards either getting the apartment cleaned or getting sleepy enough to go back to bed. So I guess maybe I'll go put in a load of clothes and start scrubbing down the kitchen. Fun stuff.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!