Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Damn cats

2004-03-27 - 6:01 a.m.

Disclaimer

The good news is, I called our local vet who offers boarding services to find out if the cats could be vaccinated the day we drop them off to be boarded. Oh yes, she tells me. For the low, low price of only $79 per cat for the shots, plus a $12 per cat, per day boarding rate. Which comes to a grand total of $412, a wee bit more than I had been planning on spending on the aminals this weekend, by about $412 to be exact, but what the hell. Sold!

Except... now we come to the bad news. They are completely booked up for next week because of fucking spring break. As were the other two kennels I called.

Another option came to me... don't some motels allow pets? Well, yes, some of them do. Including one near where I work... for the low, low price of $79 per night, which unfortunately does not include shots (of course, it's not like they require shots for the pets to stay there.)

I called them this morning to ask about vacancies and what kind of restrictions they have on pets, and was told they allow small pets, such as could be carried in in a cage. I mentioned we had more than one, and he didn't say they have any restrictions on the number. But why didn't I just come out and SAY we had four? It's not like I'm brave enough to sneak all four of them in and leave them there alone for the maid to discover after she barges past the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door.

And of course, cages... I've been thinking about purchasing a mid-size dog cage anyway, for the daughter's cat who still likes to tinkle on the floor (to keep him in during the day... we'd let him out, of course, when someone was home to watch him.)

So I'm thinking we buy a cage (probably two cages, actually,) take a little luggage along so that it's not so obvious we are only renting the room as cat storage, and pay the $79 per night so we can leave the cats there while we're at work.

I'd even be close enough that I could run over there to check on everyone during my lunch break.

Is there a flaw in this plan I'm not seeing, other than the fact that it's going to cost us a small fortune?








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!