Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



I smell pretty, oh so pretty...

2004-04-08 - 9:40 p.m.

Disclaimer

I'm sitting here drenched in Rain, and it smells heavenly.

We went to the Field Museum downtown over the weekend, and in the gift shop I discovered a scrumptious line of fragrances, soaps and candles. I fell in love with the scent called �Rain� but decided not to buy it right then, but then I regretted it so I looked it up online and found that the company, Demeter, offers a huge variety of offbeat fragrances on their website.

I swear it was just like in the cartoons... I placed my order and barely had time to turn around before the truck pulled up with my package. Well, maybe not quite THAT fast, but damn, two days from order to delivery is some mighty good service, people.

Today I received a UPS package containing my beloved �Rain� cologne, which actually smells more like cucumber to me. Kind of a good thing because the only smell I associate with real rain is that nasty overpowering wormy smell. This Rain reminds me a lot of Crabtree & Evelyn�s avocado soap (which also drives me out of my mind with giddy olfactory ecstasy.) I also ordered the cologne called �Laundromat� which actually does smell like that clean, soapy-washy smell a good laundromat has (as opposed to the mildewy, dirty-socks-and-underwear smell of a bad laundromat... which, come to think of it, also describes the fragrance of the Evil Childe�s room to a tee.)

And then there�s Dirt. Yes, they actually have a fragrance called Dirt and it does indeed have the musty-earthy smell of clean soil. This one I got for free in the form of a candle, and I�m finding it strangely compelling. It reminds me of playing outside as a little kid. I don�t think I�d actually wear it in cologne form, though. But I can see enjoying the smell of that candle, in a certain mood.

So far the Rain hasn�t bothered my asthma like most perfumes do, so I�m making an optimistic list of Demeter fragrances I want to try (along with the accompanying descriptions from the website:)

Cucumber - The refreshingly crisp, clean scent of this freshly peeled garden variety. Demeter raided the greenhouse for this pleasant variety.

Dandelion - Sweet smelling summertime in a bottle. Finally, the lazy days of summer are here again- sit back & relax!

Earl Grey Tea - A regal and refreshing blend of tea notes. Pour a cup of kindness with this well-mannered sophisticated scent.

Fig Leaf - A beautyofasite favorite! We just can't seem to get enough of this fresh, modern scent. Fresh, fruity, subtle and oh-so-true, Fig Leaf is like a sun-drenched weekend on the Mediterranean coast, refreshing and calming at the same time.

Firefly - An exotic mid summer's night. This unique blend contains brown oakmoss, crushed autumn leaves, patchouli and smoked applewood for an amazing spark!

Grass - Like a newly mown lawn: fresh, green, and a little zesty. The smell of freshly cut grass is everyone's favorite.

Holy Water - Blessed are those who wear this scent. A mesmerizing blend of marble and wood. You've got to smell it to believe...

Leather - An epic tale of fashion and the flames of seduction. Leather is not longer just for the rough 'n tuff motorcycle crowd. Street chic meets couture with this spin on scent.

Paperback - You don't have to read between the lines to enjoy this charming fragrance. A subtle, but marvelous mixture of freshly milled paper combined with damp ink. You'll want to curl up with this scent just before bedtime.

Poison Ivy A la femme blend of fresh, twisted greens named after the poisonous plant. If you're feeling a little naughty, this works like a charm. Get down & dirty.

Snow - You're as cold as ice, but you smell so damn good. A crisp, clean scent that everyone can wear. Brrrr.

Thunderstorm - Don't get caught without your umbrella! Thunderstorm smells just like the woods right after a summer cloud burst. It is in the same vein as Dirt, Rain, Laundromat and the ever popular Snow, we expect this one to be exceptionally popular.

This is not a Pipe - Welcome to the smoke shop! If we didn't know better, we'd swear someone just lit up in the corner! It may not be a real pipe, but it sure smells like one. Just like the one Grandpa used to smoke, this sweet and smoky scent instantly transports us back in time.

Wet Garden - Wet garden is sure to give way to a brilliant display of colorful blooms. A complex mixture of rain, dirt and summertime blooms. April's showers fill this bottle of bliss!

And a couple I think I�ll take a pass on (comments mine:)

Sushi � uh, if memory serves, doesn�t sushi smell like raw fish? And isn�t it rather a specific goal of most women to NOT smell like raw fish?

Stable � Please tell me they are not selling a perfume that smells like horseshit.

Holy Smoke � this one sounds intriguing, but what are the odds it won�t set me off on a massive attack of wheezing? Smoke and perfume, my two biggest triggers, conveniently combined into one little spray bottle o� death.

I wish there was such a thing as scratch n sniff internet, because I can see myself spending a serious shitload of money at this site just out of curiosity.

Now I�m enjoying a hot cup of Earl Gray Tea, because I�m nothing if not highly suggestible. And I just can�t stop sniffing that Dirt candle.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!