Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



The catch-up entry... brought to you by Heinz

2004-05-09 - 7:55 a.m.

Disclaimer

I am so busy these days I can't see straight (nor apparently think up a more clever turn of phrase with which to express myself.)

School and work have eaten my weekdays and most of my weeknights, and housework/laundry/groceries/homework have sucked up an overwhelming portion of my weekends. Even the little bit of recreation I've tried to fit in has ultimately left me feeling more tired and shorter of time.

You know, when I add it all up my total number of hours spent in work/school totals about 50, and if I were being completely conscientious about it, my homework time would average maybe another 5-6 per week. I know there are lots of people who routinely work this many hours yet still manage to have lives and not have their homes collapes around them. Why the hell can't I pull this off?

It's not like I haven't made an effort towards keeping things running smoothly. For past few weeks, every Saturday I've gotten up and worked for hours picking up the apartment and doing basic cleaning, with plenty of pitching in by the Prince. My place has NEVER gotten this much consistent cleaning attention ever in its life, yet by the following Saturday it looks (and smells) just as bad as it ever did.

I get groceries every Saturday or Sunday afternoon. I spend a mother-shit-load of money on miscellaneous stuff we need--and I mean a SCARY mother-shit-load of money. Yet I have not cooked for weeks. My kitchen has turned into a gruesome science project, with all that miscellaneous food we're not eating languishing in various states of decay. The bread and oranges are moldy, the milk and lunchmeat are well past their prime, the bagged salad looks like a giant gazpacho drink-pouch, and I found a bug in my cereal last night.

Today I have to go in with a garbage bag and throw out about $150 of nasty food, and then head to the grocery store to replace at least some of the stuff with fresh. We also have to go to the laundromat, I have homework, and I didn't even get to any of the housework I wanted to do. Yesterday I spent a couple of hours at the French Market in the next town, and did a few personal errands, and somehow my entire day disappeared without accomplishing a fucking thing.

The diet/exercise thing has gone completely to hell. Working out for 20 minutes every morning wasn't too much of a hardship, but feeling sore and tired at the end of the week was. Especially considering I've only been getting 5 hours of sleep every night. Skimping on sleep just shoots my diet right in the ass too, because when I get tired I eat, especially at work and mostly sweet stuff.

This week my only goals have been to get more sleep and stop eating sugar. I'm doing a little better on the sleep and haven't had any sugar in three days. As much as it pains me, I think that sugar is going to have to be permanently banned from my life if I'm ever to get and keep off the weight I want to lose.

All is not suckage around here, contrary to appearances. We FINALLY bought ourselves a second car and we are both reveling in our newfound freedom and the greatly-reduced commute time. We found ourselves a nice used car at payments higher than we wanted, but it's in good shape with low mileage so I think it was worth it.

We are also on the verge of buying a new computer and kicking this dinosaur to the curb. In a fit of overenthusiasm I already went out and purchased Adobe Creative Suite, and I'm so excited to think that maybe I'll finally have a machine on which Photoshop and Illustrator can run instead of crawl.

I feel like I've been at kind of a disadvantage in my classes lately as I've had NO time to practice with the computer programs I'm using. I'm still very clumsy with them, I forget a lot of stuff, and I haven't had a chance to discover the really cool features, because I'm working so hard just to remember/figure out the basics in order to get my projects done for class. I very nearly dropped my Illustrator class because I was having trouble getting some features to work and I got way far behind. Apparently the teacher was horrified that I was thinking of dropping the class--she told me later that she thinks I'm one of the sharpest students in the class, much to my surprise!--and she really went out of her way to help me through it, offering me extra lab time and helping me figure out what had gone wrong. So the project is finally almost done, and design-wise it is total crap. But since this is not a design class, I'm not going to be graded on that anyway. I'm just pissed because I keep putting in all this time on these projects and wind up with nothing worthy of being included in a portfolio. Some of the people around me in my classes are doing such cool shit, I wonder why they are even still in school and not out doing this for money.

So anyway, the only way I'm ever going to get better at this shit is to be able to practice at home, so I'm hugely excited about the new computer.

I finished my book �Carumba! and it was really good. Weird, but good. We saw Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind a few weeks ago, and it was EXTREMELY AMAZINGLY good. And weird. Ditto Big Fish.

Now that I've got the mega-monster, mega-boring catching-up-on-my-life entry out of the way, hopefully I can get back to updating every couple of days or so, and using less than a bazillion words to do so.

Now, I'm off to clean, get groceries and do laundry. Or run away from home. I haven't quite decided.



"The Garden" by Elsie V. Aidenoff. Halfheartedly.
Sunday morning quiet
One more day of weekend. Ok, two.


3 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!