Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Shut up and read

2004-06-16 - 10:48 p.m.

Disclaimer

Have you seen the movie "Saved!" yet? If you saw the trailer and were even a little interested, GO SEE THIS MOVIE. It is fabulous.

Ok, Christians who take themselves really really seriously probably ought to miss this one, but everyone else, GO.

Set in a Christian high school where the popularity game depends not only on good looks and money but also on piety, or rather the appearance thereof, the movie doesn't rip on God or Christianity so much as it makes fun of some really obnoxious Christian stereotypes. There were many laugh out loud moments, and what was funniest to me is that while many of the situations were clearly satirized, they weren't all that far off from the way many religious people I've known actually do act.

There were a couple of very touching storylines going on throughout the movie, and I found myself on the verge of tears almost as much as I was laughing. It was really easy to like and care about the characters and get caught up with their stories.

I thought the acting was really good. Mandy Moore was perfect as the popular girl everyone loves to hate. And I've got a huge, wildly innappropriate crush on McCaulay Culkin now. The combination of that handsome baby face and his quick, sardonic wit is just too too sexy. I want to adopt him and then do dirty, dirty things to him. (Heh� me and Michael Jackson have something in common!)

There wasn't anything terribly profound or new presented about life, religion or human nature. It's pretty common knowledge that many Christians are more judgemental and hypocritical than loving, that sometimes a so-called sinner can be a much better person inside that those who call themselves saints, that crises of faith are often precipitated when bad things happen to good people. Anyone who has ever questioned the set of religious beliefs he was handed by his parents will already have pondered these issues, and those who haven't probably will not go to see this movie anyway.

I was worried that I was going to hate the ending, that the producers (who I later found out is Micheal Stipe of REM fame) would wuss out to the fear of public outcry and make the ending very pro-faith. The concluding thoughts on Christianity certainly weren't earth-shakingly subversive or anything, but at least there weren't any pussy-whipped attempts at piecing any sacred cows back together to placate the tongue-clackers of the world either.

Well done, fresh and very entertaining. I highly recommend.








7 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!