Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



How's that taste, buddy?

2004-06-18 - 8:34 p.m.

Disclaimer

Every day at noon, my coworker sits at my desk for a few minutes so I can take a quick potty run before she goes on her lunch break, since I don't take my lunch until one.

Today when I got back from the bathroom there was a guy standing at my desk, and my coworker told me who he was and who he was waiting for. I offered him a seat in the waiting room and he declined.

As my coworker got up to leave, I jokingly said to her, "Hey, how about you stay here and I'll take your lunch break and mine too? I could use a two-hour nap right about now."

She snorted a laugh and walked away. The guy standing at my desk looked me up and down quickly and said, "This industrial park is a real nice place for walking. You ought to take advantage of it."

I was a little taken aback, and I can't even remember what kind of idiotic reply I babbled as my brain tried to process the fact that this guy had actually run his eyes up and down my body and then told me to my face I ought to get some exercise.

Then in the very next second, I noticed that the guy suddenly seemed very uncomfortable, like, MORTIFIED uncomfortable, and he suddenly decided he actually would rather go around the corner and peruse the boring magazines in our waiting room after all.

And THAT just cracked my shit right up. Either he didn't mean his comment "that" way but suddenly realized how it sounded, or he DID mean it that way but hadn't intended for ME to realize he meant it that way. And even though there was no way he could really apologize without making the situation even MORE uncomfortable, watching him squirm was so much fun it made me feel all better. Gleeful, even.

I guess I have a bit of a cruel streak. Or maybe it's just that I enjoy seeing someone besides ME gagging on the taste of his own shoe leather.








6 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!