Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Wow, socializing really CAN be fun. Who knew?

2004-06-21 - 5:09 a.m.

Disclaimer

I swear to god, I feel like I've used up a month's allotment of words this past week. First there was last Tuesday's late-night supper with Ibe, and then we capped off the week with a fun-filled Saturday evening with the Fuzzmom's. (I have a sneaking suspicion that I shouldn't be using an apostrophe there, but I'm too lazy to go look it up so pbthhhhhhht. Live with it.)

Anyway, after the constant stream of words that emerged from my slobbering pie-hole all last week, yesterday I simply could not find an entry in me... I'm sick of the sound of my own babbling and apparently that extends to the keyboard as well.

But I do want to say that the Prince and I had a fabulous time with the Fuzzmom's. We have not been out with another couple in, like... ever. I was delighted to find that all of our personalities seem to mesh very well. They are professional-level smart-asses just like us, with very little sense of propriety just like us or possibly even less, so very much hilarity ensued all around.

I must have been having a good time, for I was fabulously charmingly (or possibly annoyingly) stupid. I censored practically nothing that popped into my head, ate too fast, chewed with my mouth open, spat food, and hooted with raucous laughter to the point I began to be afraid the Fuzz's were formulating an emergency escape plan via the side door of the restaurant. But to my amazement, they hung in with us and actually seemed to be having fun.

Things took a slight turn for the worse when we made the fateful decision to go play mini-golf after dinner, instead of hanging around downtown Naperville making fun of passers-by, which was another option seriously discussed, seeing as how we were in prime fun-making territory what with the steady stream of over-dress yuppies and under-dressed college students who paraded up and down every inch of the sidewalk and all. But we decided to err on the side of couth, and soon found ourselves playing Miniature Golf in Hell.

It wasn't until AFTER we'd plunked down our cash that we discovered the course was a wee bit packed. Criminy! I've waited in shorter lines at Disney World. At every stinking hole, we'd have to wait ten minutes, then it would take about two minutes for all four of us to whack our balls (hehe), and then we'd wait ten minutes at the next hole, lather rinse repeat. It was quickly getting dark, and cold, and the skeeters were out in full force. So I have to say that the mini-golf didn't do a whole lot to enhance the evening.

Yet the company was so good we still managed to have a great time, what with the jokes and wisecracks and showtunes and such. Yeah, showtunes! Fuzzmom sings like an angel, and her rendition of "All That Jazz" gives Catherine Zeta Jones a serious run for her money. And these folks want us to go do karaoke with them! (Might be fun... at least we can take bets on how long they'll still claim us after they hear my Alfalfa-like, alcohol-enhanced screeching amplified by microphone.)

We wound up cutting the golf game short at the eighth hole because we were all just kind of sick of it at that point, and the Fuzzmom's needed to get on the road anyway (they had driven over an hour to get to where we met, on very little sleep no less.) I was pretty tired myself at this point, which I'm sure had NOTHING to do with the three apple coolers I poured down my gullet at dinner.

The Prince and I had a great time, and I hope the Fuzz's did too and were not just being polite in saying so until they could run home and change their email addresses and cell phone numbers. Because we'd really love to hang out with them again sometime soon. :)



The Beginning of Calamities by Tom House
The fan
The fucking maintenance people to bring me a washer


3 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!