Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Calling All South Beach Babies

2004-07-08 - 1:21 p.m.

Disclaimer

As much as I hate catapulting my big fat arse onto the bandwagon, I'm seriously considering giving the low-carb lifestyle a try. My recent failed experiment with vegetarianism made it apparent that lots of carbs equals fat, tired and grumpy in my case; not only that, but my normal indifference to meat has inexplicably been replaced by a craving for flesh that would make a T-Rex blush.

Seems like as good a time as any to try low-carbing, yet I know from past personal experience that Adkins is most emphatically not for me. I simply never will be able to stick with an eating plan that does not allow me to have at least some beans, rice and potatoes.

So I'm thinking maybe South Beach would be the way to go. But before I invest yet another chunk of time and money in yet another diet plan, I'd like to have an idea of what I'm in for and whether it is something I could stick with.

So if any South Beach'ers are reading, could you tell me what you think of the plan?

What do you love about it?

What sucks about it?

And what happens if I skip the initial two weeks of hell, which, of the little I know of the diet so far, is the main thing putting me off starting.

Oh, and what about recipes? I've seen some of the gourmet recipes floating around the magazine circuit, and there is no way THAT is gonna happen. I have neither the time nor the money to stick into recipes that call for 20 expensive ingredients that I've never heard of. I'm all about fast and cheap these days. At least in the kitchen.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.








3 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!