Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



The never-ending entry

2004-08-21 - 12:36 p.m.

Disclaimer

Lots of stuff I want to do today, and it looks like a fine day to be out and about. We�ve had some amazingly beautiful weather lately, cool and sunny and very comfortable.

I sure hope it holds for tomorrow, for we are actually planning to go out into the big wide world and DO something for a change, and we�ll be doing it with some mighty cool companions to boot. Tomorrow we are going to the Bristol Renaissance Faire with the Fuzzmoms!

I�m excited. I�ve never been to a Ren Faire, though the Prince went to one in Atlanta, and the Fuzzmoms are Faire-going fools. It sounds like all kinds of fun and I know the company will be good. The Evil One and her Ex-Boy are coming along as well� I�m hoping that won�t be the final straw that sends the Fuzzmoms screaming into the night. But I�m sure they aren�t going to want to hang around with us elderly folk anyway. I�ll only see them when they need money.

No costumes for the Charmings this time around, though I seriously gave some thought into trying to put something together. But only having left ourselves three weeks to prepare, I would have had to put far too much time and/or money into making or buying something, and I�d have gotten stressed out and aggravated about it, and who needs that? But the Fuzzmoms may be dressing up, so that will be fun. And I found some good info on making costumes for next year, should we be lucky enough to get to go again. Historical accuracy be damned� I want to let my inner medieval white-trash wench and her hoisted-up cleavage out to play! And if I can get some eyeliner and pirate gear on my handsome Prince, ala Johnny Depp? I will be the horniest wench you ever saw.

But today my costume considerations are a bit more down-to-earth. My favorite comfy dyke-sandals have seen far, far better days. The soles are flapping, the inner lining is raggedy and they make my feet stink like roadkill in the noonday sun. Time for a new pair, but could it be as simple as walking into Walmart with cash and walking out with shoes? Why hell no. I had to order them online last week, paid extra for three-day shipping, naturally didn�t receive the shoes in three days, called customer service, had to leave a message which was to be answered in 24 hours, then of course they didn�t bother to call me back to deal with the issues I asked about in my message. They just sent me an email telling me my shoes would ship on Thursday and would take three to five business days to arrive. So the point of paying extra for three day shipping is what, that I will receive my shoes maybe three to five days after whenever the hell they get around to shipping them? Color me unimpressed. They�ve just lost a formerly brand-loyal customer to Birkenstock. It ain�t like I HAVE to wear WalMart shoes, ya know.

So today I�m off to find some new dykey shoes that I can actually have on my hot little feet for tomorrow�s walking-around fest. I�m just not a tennis shoe sort of person� my little piggies likes to bask themselves in the sunshine and fresh air. I will be cranky as fuck if my old cat-chewed tennies turn out to be the only semi-comfortable shoe option I have.

I also have to get some groceries, because the pickens is getting mighty slim around here. Witness� refried beans for breakfast. And NOT because I was craving them, by any means. We're just out of everything else we're allowed to eat.

I need to go and get back, because I�ve also got a project I�m obsessing about and want to put in some working time on. As much as Jessica Simpson irritates me with her dumb-blonde, sex-kitten-on-crack act, I have to love the girl for one thing: she wears these beautiful crocheted shawls on her show, and is turning them into a fashion trend. I loved these when they were popular in the 70�s, and I was so tickled to see that they are coming back that I immediately went looking to buy one online! And came to a screeching halt upon discovering prices around $200. So then I decided to make one myself, and spent many days searching online for a good easy pattern to no avail, only to mention it at work and having one of my wonderful co-workers bring me the perfect pattern she borrowed from a crocheting friend of hers the very next day! Networking rules.

I�m teaching myself as I go, and so far, so good. In two days of working at odd moments, I�m about a third of the way done. Hell, if the finishing and fringe-ing doesn�t trip me up, I think I know what my mom-in-law and grandmother are getting for Christmas. Total cost per shawl is less than $10 worth of yarn, now that I own the hooks and how-to info.

Well, I MAY be making shawls that is, if school doesn�t eat up every last bit of my free time. I went and paid for my two classes yesterday. I�m taking Illustration I, which differs from Drawing I how I�m not sure, but I�m hoping it will be helpful in my quest to improve my drawing skills. And I signed up for a non-credit class in using color in drawings which will likely be cancelled because only two people have enrolled so far. I don�t yet know what I will take if they cancel it. I wanted to enroll in Severe and Unusual Weather to get my science credit out of the way, but that bastard was full within days. Must be a pretty cool class� or at least I�m not the only one who thinks it sounds like the coolest of the otherwise tedious Earth Science options. Well, there must be SOMETHING interesting I haven�t taken that I can slide into at the last minute. Maybe an Art History class.

But enough of this rambling! How about a heaping helping of some bullshit instead? Here�s a quiz I lifted from this splendiferous sex goddess:

*ahem*

A Quiz

Were you named after anyone? As I understand it, I am named for Amy of �Little Women� -- the self-absorbed artistic one. Heh. My grandmother tells me I was almost named Amy Jo.

Do you wish on stars? I wish on shooting stars, if I remember to when I see one.

Which finger is your favorite? Right middle finger. It�s a useful sumbitch, that one.

When did you last cry? A couple of months ago. Depression related, as I recall.

Do you like your handwriting? No.

What's your favorite lunch meat? Bacon. As in a BLT on untoasted wheat bread, crispy bacon, extra mayo. Mmmmmmmmmm.

Any bad habits? I surf the internet far, far too much. I buy too many books and magazines, many of which never get read. I get takeout food much too often. I run my gas tank down to fumes in hopes I can cajole someone else into pumping my gas for me. I bite and pick at my lips compulsively. How attractive.

What is your most embarrassing CD on the shelf? Justin Timberlake. Because I remembered someone cool saying it was pretty good, and I was looking for something kind of up-tempo for listening to while exercising. It blows so bad, I never made it past the first two songs. My daughter could NOT stop laughing when she found it amongst my CD�s.

If you were another person, would you be friends with you? I�m not sure I would know what to make of me. I think I�m hard to get to know.

Have you ever told a secret you swore not to tell? No, not since I�ve been an adult anyway. Having worked for an HMO and in human resources, confidentiality has become second nature to me. I love knowing personal stuff about people, but I have no problem keeping it to myself. The only exception to the above is that I tell the Prince everything� at least everything important or interesting. Including things my friends tell me about themselves, unless they specifically ask me not to.

Do looks matter? Kind of. Though the type of looks I prefer run more to �quirky� and �interesting� than stunningly gorgeous, and I am capable of finding a wide variety of physical traits attractive if there is a good personality to go along with it, there are some kinds of unattractive I just don�t think I could get past.

How do you release anger? I bitch and moan. I can also be cuttingly sarcastic to the object of my ire. If I�m really pissed I yell. If I�m really, really, REALLY pissed and my buttons continue to be pushed, I have been known to throw things and break shit. But it takes quite a bit to get me to that point, and I�m always very ashamed of myself afterwards.

Where is your second home? My grandparent�s house.

Do you trust others easily? No. I don�t think most people realize it though, because I�ll tell them personal shit fairly early in our acquaintance if it happens to come up. But it�s mostly because I don�t feel terribly protective about most of my personal shit and don�t much care who knows it. But I don�t give my heart easily. I am very tolerant of people�s idiosyncrasies, but I always keep my eyes open for signs of real shittiness in a person.

What was your favorite toy as a child? Chrissy. The doll with the hair that you could make long or short.

What class in school do you think is totally useless? After your basic readin�, ritin�, and �rithmatic which most people have pretty well in hand by about the eighth grade, I think most public school classes are pretty useless. Not that the subjects are useless, but the whole way the educational process is set up is just fucked up. One size does NOT fit all! Sure, some of the exceptional kids are singled out for a more personalized program, but that leaves a whole lot of so-called average kids stuck skimming the boring surface of most subjects. Hardly inspires a love of learning. It�s like watching 12 years of trailers for college courses, where, if you haven�t been put off education for life, you might actually get to learn something INTERESTING about sociology or history or whatever.

Do you use sarcasm a lot? Yes. Mostly in fun, though I have been known to lob off some rather venomous barbs in the heat of anger. Not something I�m terribly proud of.

Have you ever been in a mosh pit? No.

What do you look for in a guy/girl? Intelligence, s ense of humor, playfulness, an open mind, sincerity, straightforwardness.

What are your nicknames? My mother always called me Susie. My aunt still calls me Me-Sue, because that�s what I called myself when I was little and couldn�t say Amy Sue properly. My grandpa calls me Amos.

Would you bungee jump? Ah, no. I can�t even begin to imagine even thinking about maybe considering contemplating doing it. I do not do heights well.

Do you think that you are strong willed? Yes, I do believe I am a just the slightest bit willful.

What's your favourite ice cream flavour? Ben and Jerry�s Apple Crumble, or Hi, Honey I�m Home (which the bastards discontinued.) Also Breyer�s Vanilla Bean, and Moose Tracks.

Shoe Size? 9 � if they�re wide, otherwise 10.

What are your favourite colours? Right now, I�m all in love with olive-y greens, citrine yellows and spicy oranges. I also like black, dark red, denim blue, khaki beige, and pink. And purple. I�m a color slut, is what I am.

What is your least favourite thing? Frustration.

How many wisdom teeth do you have? Four.

How many people have a crush on you right now? There had better be at least one, and he knows who he is! Other than that, none that I know of.

What color pants are you wearing? Gray sweats.

What are you listening to right now? An ominous growling sound coming from the X-Box game which is paused on the TV.

Last thing you ate? Tuna wrap from Subway. Wasn�t all that great.

If you were a crayon, what color would you be? Periwinkle. Or midnight blue.

What is the weather like right now? Sunny and cool. Simply gorgeous.

Last person you talked to on the phone? Somebody calling for a friend of a kid who lives on the fourth floor of our building. I dunno either.

The first thing you notice about the opposite sex? Facial expression. Are the eyes friendly? Is the smile genuine? Is the person looking at me in an interested manner while we talk, or is he schmoozing me absentmindedly while his eyes dart around the room, looking for someone more interesting to talk to? Next to out-and-out meanness, the qualities I�m least attracted to in other people are arrogance and phony charm.

How are you today? Good mood, most of my physical parts in working order, a manageable To Do list, a crochet project to work on later, an outing with cool people to look forward to tomorrow. I would have to say that I am Fine.

Favourite drink? Hazelnut coffee, black. Ice tea, no lemon or sugar. Gingerale. Plain sparkling water. Diet Vanilla Crack. Depends on what I�m in the mood for.

Favourite alcoholic drink? Corona beer. Margarita. Bailey�s in coffee. Or anything that tastes like dessert yet still has a kick.

Favourite Sport? Surfing. The net, of course.

Hair colour? My hair is golden chestnut, which is a fancy way of saying brown. On other people? I�m not partial to blondes for some reason, men or women. (Though there are exceptions.) But most other colors I like, particularly dark brunettes and reds.

Eye colour? My eyes are blue. I don�t know if I have a favorite eye color, though I do love big brown eyes on women. But I also like green and blue, and and� hell, how often do you see unattractive eyeballs on a healthy person anyway? Most eyes are at least pretty, some are remarkable. One thing I really like is when a person�s eyes change color. All three of my husbands have had eyes like this. The Prince�s eyes are particularly pretty, they have both deep brown and clear green in them and one or the other color quite often dominates depending on his mood and what he is wearing.

Do you wear contacts? Sometimes.

Siblings? Three brothers in varying degrees of younger.

Favourite food? Chipotle�s burrito bol. Wendy�s crispy chicken salad. Green egg salad. Stouffer�s spinach souffle. Shrimp. Salmon. Sushi. A bowl of fresh blueberries drench with heavy cream.

Last movie you watched? Some girly thing the Prince brought home that I thought was going to suck but it didn�t. �Along Came Polly.� Yeah, that�s it.

What is your favourite day of the year? Halloween. Or Valentines� Day.

Are you too shy to ask someone out? I don�t think I could go up to someone and just directly ask them �would you like to go on a date?� But I can and have worked a casual invitation into conversation.

Scary movies or happy endings? I like a little suspense but not gore or violence. I don�t like heavy-duty horror. It�s really hard to say what I�ll like otherwise� I like a little bit of most genres, but I am really hard to please. I like some stupid humor, and loathe some. I hate cliches. I hate most romantic comedies, because they are all so predictable and mostly not very clever. I don�t care for action movies unless the plot is really compelling. I guess I prefer happy endings to sad, because movies tend to stay with me awhile and sad endings make me depressed. I want to be fascinated by the characters and kept on my toes by the plot. I want comedy that seems effortless and natural or even really silly if there�s at least a hint of subtlety, and it�s not being forced down my throat like there�s a guy next to me elbowing me in the ribs every two minutes going �Get it? Get it?� Yes, it sucks trying to find a movie watch with me.

Hugs or kisses? Kisses are nice, but I love a good cuddle.

What are your current Living Arrangements? An apartment far too small for the assortment of adults, teenagers, pets and assorted crap it currently shelters.

What's on your mouse pad? Droplets of water. Printed, not spilled.

Favourite board game? Trivial Pursuit even though I sort of suck at it. Boggle. Scrabble. Least favorite, even though you didn�t bother to ask: Monopoly.

What did you watch on TV last night? Stand-up comedy on Comedy Central.

Favourite Smell? Soap. Citrus. Spearmint. Fresh cucumber. Hazelnut coffee. Leather.

What is the first thing you think of when you wake up? I almost always wake up anxious about something. The actual something varies from day to day. Usually related to kid, money or politics these days.

Favorite sound? I have to copy off LA and say moving water. �Ocean tides, rivers, rain.� Add fountains to that list. Also little tinkly wind chimes. Primitive sounding drums. Gregorian chants. A cat�s purr.

So long! (The entry, I mean. Criminy!)








2 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!