Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Sometimes, it's the little things

2004-09-09 - 1:21 p.m.

Disclaimer

I've been feeling very PMS-y lately (or possibly just your garden variety depress-y, because my cycle has been kind of off kilter and I could be just about to start or more than a week away, which is a bit too soon for the PMS to be kicking me in the head.)

Regardless, I've been feeling kind of crappish, weepy and whiny and unloved and just basically at odds with the rest of the world; I even wrote up a big old pissy rant in my private weight loss journal which I considered cross-posting here in an unabashed bid for sympathetic murmurings in my comment section.

But it's amazing how little it takes to cheer me up from the very depths of despair sometimes.

The first day brightener was finding out that someone I dislike intensely (for very good reason) is not as universally well thought of by others as I'd believed (and puzzled over greatly.) And this news came to me at an oddly synchronous moment, announced out of the blue by someone I DO like who had no idea that I'd spent the entire morning thinking dark and ugly thoughts in the general direction of the troll-like individual in question. Petty of me? Uh huh, but it's still nice to know I'm not the only one who sees an assclown for an assclown.

The other bit of cheer came, quite surprisingly, in the form of an invoice to our company. I've always been annoyed by expressions of faith when expressed in a business context... I find it unprofessional and offensive to be made aware of someone's religious opinions in the course of doing business with them. I've never seen anyone but Christians doing it, either, and it annoys me to no end that they think they get a free pass on professionalism because their almighty Truth and the appearance of Righteousness is so much more important than minding their own damn business and letting me mind mine by not making me privy to their thoughts in matters spiritual.

Anyway... today I opened an invoice and saw what at first glance appeared to be a morsel of Christian propaganda, yet on closer inspection turned out to be soemthing quite different:

"The believer is happy, the doubter is wise."

Hee... I know free-thought propagandizing is no more professional than the religous variety, but I have to admit I was quite pleased to see someone ELSE having their say for a change. Plus it's just nice to find evidence of free-thinking life in the universe.

Professional or not, that little bit gander-sauce just made my day.








3 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!