Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



A hangover does not bode well for tomorrow's To Do list, either

2004-10-29 - 8:23 p.m.

Disclaimer

So, this is different. I'se here all alone. Well, as alone as one can be with four cats in the house anyway. I'd like to remark and exclaim over the rare quiet, but unfortunately our stupid apartment complex is having a Halloween party up at the clubhouse, and opening my sliding door to the cool night air is also inviting in the sugar-fueled shrieking of a multitude of children as well as some particularly obnoxious techo music that in my opinion sets a very bad example which some of our more dimwitted neighbors will undoubtedly follow.

The Evil Childe has gone a-haunting, and the Prince was unpleasantly surprised with a demand that a certain work project must be finished this weekend and overtime be damned. He's probably not coming home until late tonight, and hopefully he'll be done enough that they won't require him to work any on Saturday or Sunday.

Personally, I think he is just making it all up because I foolishly gave him advance notice of my intent to work him like a dirty dog this weekend. The apartment is still a disgusting pit (which we are still blaming on my extended dental-related illness) and it really needs the focused cleaning efforts of at least two adults for an extended period of time if we ever hope to render the place fit for human habitation.

Normally I would be thrilled to death to have some time by myself, but all day today I was really looking forward to dragging the Prince out for our usual Friday night supper at the Heathen Chinese buffet. It's not that the food is so fabulous there or anything, but it's usually pretty quiet and we don't have to wait to get a table, which gets us to the real attraction of the evening that much quicker: actually sitting across from each other at a real table and having a pleasant, grown-up, non-interrupted bit of conversation. We've been kind of busy with our own shit these past couple of weeks and haven't really connected all that much to speak of. I'm pretty independent, but I really miss talking to the man if we try to get by for more than a day on polite grunts, distracted mutterings and dry pecks hello and good-bye.

But, I'm on my own for the evening whether I like it or not, and I have no idea what to do with myself. Because the place is a pit, I feel like I SHOULD put on some lively music and get cracking on this cleaning. But what I would LIKE to do, if I could just forget about everything that's undone and just make up my mind to relax and recreate already, is to settle in with a glass of wine and watch stand-up comedy or maybe a movie. I've had a hankering to watch Chicago again, or maybe break open Eternal Sunshine which I bought the day it came out but haven't watched because I wanted to do it at a time when I was in the mood to commit to REALLY sitting down and watching a movie. (I find it very difficult to commit two hours of my time to movie-watching when I'm at home, because there are so many other things I think I'd rather be doing. I either have to get "sucked in" by something the Prince is watching, or else wait for that rare golden moment when I "feel" like it.)

But rather than commit to the movie I sort of feel like watching, or commit to the cleaning I want done but don't really feel like doing, I'm sitting here on my ass drinking the aforementioned wine, net surfing aimlessly and writing this pointless entry. And because it is easy and there is no decision-making involved (except the decision not to decide, I guess,) here I will probably waste the entire evening.

This would be, as Martha Stewart likely said as she was carted off to the pokey, A Bad Thing.

Maybe I could fool myself by sticking the DVD into the computer to watch. (As if I'd have a choice... I don't even know if I know how to work the DVD player by myself.)

There doesn't seem to be a logical stopping place for this entry. I could just keep adding comments and asides throughout the evening, and tomorrow we could all laugh at how they got dumber and dumber as I got drunker and drunker, but that would be fairly pathetic.

So, I guess this is good-night. I'm all done typing now. Still undecided about anything else, but real firm on the no more typing.

Really.








1 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!