Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



It's three a.m., I must be wide fucking awake

2004-11-09 - 3:33 a.m.

Disclaimer

So, this whole thing where I can go to bed at just about any hour of the evening, foolishly thinking that for once I'm going to get myself a good night's sleep, and then I magically wake up at 3 a.m. every stinking morning (morning? says WHO?)-- is getting pretty tiresome. Literally.

When I was a homebody, I didn't mind my weird sleep schedule at all. If I woke up in the wee-sma's I'd just read or play on the computer until I got sleepy again--which invariably happens a couple of hours later--and then go back to bed for a few hours. Sometimes (ok, usually) I'd supplement my sporadic nighttime slumber with a nap (or two) during the day.

But these days my second bedtime--the aforementioned "a couple of hours later"--is the time I have to get UP, if I happen to want to get a shower before the Prince arises and claims the bathroom for his Daily Forty-Minute Poop and the lengthy, elaborate getting ready for work ritual that, as far as I can tell, mostly involves him sleepily staring at his naked self in the mirror for many, many minutes and trying to fend me off from grabbing his weiner.

So lately, after I've done all the farting around online I normally do and gotten myself sleepy again, I've been dragging my ass to the shower around 4:30 to beat the rush and then going back to bed at 5ish. Which would be helpful if I could actually sleep straight through til 6:30, but no. I have to wake up the Prince at 5:15, and then, because apparently I am a human snooze alarm, again at 5:30.

What the hell is wrong with my brain that it won't ever let me sleep more than 4-5 hours at a stretch? I hate being sleepy at work. You know what I do all day? I alphabetize shit, and collate shit, and stuff envelopes. Boring, tedious, brain-numbing monkey work. The only reason they haven't hired an actual monkey to do this shit is because they can't find one who speaks English as well as I who could answer the phone. Apparently shrieking and hooting into the phone is off-putting to the customers. (Good thing they told me.)

Even on my best-rested days I often get sleepy and start nodding out at my desk mid-task from the lack of mental stimulation. Post-insomnia days are the pits. And being tethered to the phone, it's not like I can get up and walk around, take a pee and get some coffee to wake myself up. (I do get scheduled breaks, but sometimes the 2-3 hours in between seems like a mighty long ass fucking time.)

So. I started a load of dishes at 3:30, because I am stupid and keep forgetting that it sucks up the entire tankful of hot water over the course of an hour or so, meaning it will stop sucking just in time for me to take a freezing shower. Nice.

I'm gonna take my grumpy ass back to bed now, showerless, and just plan on stealing most of the Prince's hot water right before I wake him up.

Ya snooze, ya lose.








4 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!