Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Life in the big city

2005-06-12 - 6:08 a.m.

Disclaimer

Hmmmm... it would seem that going downtown to visit the Lush store in order to avoid paying $10 in shipping for an $8 item is a bit of a false economy. $56 later, plus gas and dinner...

Ok, it was worth it. The Lush stuff is gorgeous and smells heavenly, though $4 for a little bar of fragrant oily stuff that is meant to fancy-up ONE bath is a little steep for my taste. (Ok, I bought two of them. Shut up. The pink one has sparkles!)

I did get the powder I was looking for. This stuff smells amazing and is talc-free so it should be ok for use near the girly bits. See, I've taken to wearing a tummy shaper-thingy with my skirts lately--not that there is ANY material short of welded steel that could mold my tummy into any shape other than round, mind you. I'm wearing it because the legs of the garment keep my chubby li'l thighs from rubbing together and creating sparks when I try to walk around in a skirt with no pantyhose. The shaper-thingy is pretty comfy actually, but it IS spandex and you should see me trying to haul it up over all my glorious voluptuousness while still damp from a shower at the gym. It's a whole new workout in and of itself, not to mention providing quite the spectacle for amused onlookers.

So I went powder-shopping at Lush with a friend I hadn't seen in a few months, someone with whom I had convinced myself I hadn't much in common, and wound up having a lot of fun with her. Turns out we shop well together. We're interested in the same quirky types of stuff and have similar attention spans for browsing, so we checked out a couple of little shops selling handmade jewelry, decorative stuff, and a paper craft supply store while we were down there. I've always found her a little difficult to make conversation with in the past, but we didn't seem to have any trouble this time around.

I've been feeling a little insecure about my shaky social skills lately, so it was nice to actually have a real "girlfriends" kind of day with someone. Makes me think that maybe I'm not such a huge freak after all. No, I'm pretty sure that's not it, but I'm still glad to know I'm able to have a semi-normal good time with actual people once in a while.

She took me to a real sushi place for supper. I'd never been, even though I eat pre-packaged sushi from Whole Foods Mkt all the time. I love Spicy Salmon Rolls and they're way low in points-- four points for nine rolls! So I got the same thing at the sushi place and as it turns out, the boxed stuff is pretty close to the restaurant stuff taste-wise. So at least I'm not eating the K-Mart of sushi when I grab up my usual box to go. I also discovered that roe is kind of gross... it's like eating a bath bead filled with fish oil. Maybe it's better if you chew it up WITH the actual piece of sushi... I just snatched a single pearl off of my friend's plate for sampling purposes.

So that was my afternoon in the big city. Drove home feeling all relaxed and happy, right up until the time my phone rang and it was the Evil Childe, shrieking in my ear about needing to leave on a trip to spend several days in Wisconsin with Boyfriends' family sooner than planned, like RIGHT AWAY, and how my terrible horrible husband was actually MAKING her call me to tell me she was leaving BEFORE she actually went; and then more shrieking when I told her that no, she could NOT empty out my gym bag to take with her, because I need it, and we all know that mom having needs totally does not compute in the seventeen year old brain. So she says something charming that even I have too much couth to repeat, and hangs up in my ear...

And I'm thinking, "Moody little twat! Is she on the rag or what? No, last week was the break week from her BCP... oh, fuck, she's supposed to start her new pack on Sunday and I haven't filled the prescription yet!" Apparently our house phone has recently died of domestic abuse, so for the next 20 minutes I called and called and called the Prince's cell phone from the road and no one picked up; and I got madder and more furious to the point of boiling, dashboard-pounding RAGE before I finally got through and found out she had some extra pills to take, though I don't know if she'd have even thought about it if I hadn't brought it up.

So much for relaxed and happy.

Anyway. It's quiet here now, and I hope she has fun and comes back in a better mood on Tuesday. This "shrieking at mom over every little thing" thing is getting real old.

Yesterday's outing was actually the third weekend I've been downtown in a month. Last weekend the Prince and I went to see the Ditty Bops at a bar, and three weeks ago we went downtown to eat Morrocan food and then to a burlesque show.

See, I decided not to make New Year's resolutions this year. My entire goal list for 2005 consisted of basically making it a priority to get out of our rut and go do fun stuff as often as possible. Making decandant goals is actually kind of brilliant, if you think about it. It's pretty sweet when seeing half-naked girls dancing is an accomplishment.

Speaking of accomplishments, it's time to get up and get busy around here. Though back to bed sounds kind of tempting...



Reading: Thin for Life
Listening to: Glorious peace & quiet...
Thinking about: Making a To Do list for the day


1 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!