Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Work sucks! School rocks! Mostly.

2003-05-12 - 8:15 a.m.

Disclaimer

I don't WANNA go to work today! It SUCKS there!!!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So with that out of the way, how in the hell did Ad Zapper get installed on this computer? The fucking thing has been freaking me out since last night... I'd click on something and hear this BZZZZZZZZZZT! noise like I'd just been electrocuted. I thought we had some kind of virus or the computer was dying or something. I only just this morning noticed that there is a teeny little bug-zapper lighting up on my screen. Weird. Maybe the Prince put it on.

Well, I'm not quitting my job right now... I don't THINK, anyway. So far the new method of doing things is fucked up, but I can handle it as long as I keep the attitude of not giving a shit how fast things get processed. Which seems to be the boss's agenda anyway, but that could change at any second without prior notice, too. Just one of the joys of working here... you get told something is not a priority, and don't worry about it, and then all of a sudden it's like, "We're so behind on this! We're gonna need you to stay late to get this caught up!" But since we've already established that I'm not staying late anymore, that shouldn't be a problem.

I am planning to quit around mid-June so I can concentrate on school for awhile. It occurred to me to be nice and give the boss my notice now, but I have a feeling if I do that she will find some way to make my life hell... probably in the form of trying to milk me for all the uses she can in the time she has left. So fuck her... she's getting two weeks' notice and is lucky to be getting that much.

I signed up for summer classes last week. My schedule is going to be kind of fucked up--split up really weird, but the only way I can get the two classes I really wanted this quarter is to take one in the morning and one in the evening, on the same day (and they're twice a week classes.) And on the in-between days, I have one other class in the afternoon.

I'm looking forward to my new classes, even though I decided not to take the computer art class I really wanted. My advisor said that even though it's supposedly a beginning class, I'd be better off to get some more experience with Illustrator before I tackle ComArt, because they don't hold your hand at ALL in that class and I still need a little bit of hand-holding at this point. So it's Illustrator over the summer, and hopefully ComArt in the fall.

I was also very pleased that my advisor heartily approves of my decision to take several art and design classes. He says that having design skills in addition to technical skills will broaden my job possibilities as well as net me a higher salary. I'm loving the design class but was feeling a little guilty for wanting to take more.... like I shouldn't "waste time" with fun stuff but should simply push on through with my desktop prepress courses to get my degree as quick as possible. I'm still going to concentrate on the courses for my degree, but at least I can enjoy having some design classes interspersed over the course of a few quarters, guilt-free.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Unfortunately, it bees time for me to haul my big fat butt up out of this chair and drag it in to work. Talk about sucking all the joy out of the day!








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!