Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



So I got a lot on my mind today

2003-06-05 - 11:30 p.m.

Disclaimer

Why is it, during the time you�re working out your two weeks� notice at a job you hate, each passing day of that two weeks is approximately twice as long as the day before? I don�t know how I�m going to make it til next Friday.

In keeping with the general theme of my time of being employed there, this past week has managed to suck a big blue hickey on my ass. They did indeed get a temp to take over the billing position... however, guess who had to train him?

Also, the receptionist is out for the week due to a death in her family. Now, we�re shorthanded all over the place... three of our usual in-office people are working off-site as substitutes for people who have quit or been fired in my boss�s micromanaging frenzy, and two people are off for funerals. There�s usually about 10 people in the office at any given time, so we�re down to about half-staff. Wouldn�t you think they�d just get a temp to answer the phones so those of us remaining could get our own work done as well as the slack we are having to pick up for those who are absent?

But no. Even yesterday, when everyone but me and the billing temp were gone for a seminar, she STILL expected the two of us to cover front desk... and all the while my work has been stacking up for three days now. This morning she called me to �check in� and I mentioned I was trying to clean out my voicemail and she said �Oh, just don�t worry about the enrollment stuff... I know you�re SO responsible about it, but just let it go for a few days, ok?� First of all, I know when she says responsible she means �rigid�... I think in her mind I am one of those people who are very self-important and prideful about their little piss-ant jobs, which I most assuredly am not. What I am is a not-naturally-organized person trying desperately to stay on top of things. Letting it slide for a few days ultimately comes back to bite me right in my big fat ass because all the shit will be sitting there in a great steaming pile on my desk when I finally get a chance to go back there. She, of course, does not get this and I hesitate to explain it to her because it makes me sound as impossibly self-centered as I actually am.

Secondly, �letting it go� means letting all the enrollments from the county go to my voicemail, which is so lame it only holds 10 messages because the length of said messages is always so long; which means my voicemail fills up in a day or less, and then they start wanting to call the enrollment information directly to my live self, which doesn�t work out so good when I�m trying to answer the main phone at the same time. So I pretty much HAVE to find time to clean out the voicemail.

The upside to all this is that it does keep me from getting all sentimental about leaving.

She�s even been dropping hints and outright suggesting that she�d like me to stay later than 1 o�clock if I could. But every day, I�m a blur streaking towards the door at 12:59:59.

***************

On a totally different note... what is up with nurses referring to the doc in their office as �Doctor?� I mean, like over the phone and stuff. As in �Doctor is only in the office on Monday and Wednesday. Would you like to schedule an appointment with Doctor?� It sounds oddly... I don�t know what, but it does sound oddly. Like, childish, or overly deferrential, or something. Is it bad form in medical circles to refer to him as �the doctor� or �Dr. Thompson?� It reminds me of the snooty butler in the movies saying �Madame will see you now.�

****************

Well, last night�s shopping trip was a total disappointment. I�ve been shopping at Jewel ever since I arrived in the Chicago area, but I�m sick to death of the prices. A short list of miscellaneous runs me around $50 bucks every time... a week�s worth can run well over $200. Ridiculous! So in my quest to save money on groceries so I don�t feel so guilty about not working, I decided to try a smaller, �family-owned� type of grocery store in my town in hopes that the prices would be better. But for the 20 or so things I compared prices on, Jewel came out to $47.75 and the other store came out to $47.22. Whoopty shit.

Over the past couple of years shopping habits have come up in conversation with various people and more than once I�ve heard said of Jewel �Oh, you shop at the expensive store!� I�d sure like to know which chain is supposed to be the less-expensive store. I�ve tried Cub foods and Dominicks and haven�t seem a big difference in prices. I already shop at Aldi�s for most stuff but I still have a pretty big list of stuff that Aldi�s doesn�t carry. Anybody from Chicagoland out there who knows where the cheap groceries are? My unemployed ass would be forever grateful for some direction.

****************

I really should go to bed, but I�m kind of afraid to seeing as how I just finished off a jumbo hotdog, cheese fries, lemonade and chocolate cake from Portillo�s. I�d sure hate to wake up gagging on a throatful of my own stomach acid like I did last night. I�ve had problems with reflux for years and always used to keep pepcid by my bed, but after a few weeks on Weight Watchers the problem seemed to go completely away--so of course I don�t keep pepcid around any more. Tonight�s menu should have clued you in that I�m not exactly staying on plan, and the reflux has come back with a vengeance. I�ve never known it to be this bad... it used to just be heartburn, or a little sour taste in the back of my throat. But twice now in the past few weeks I�ve been jolted awake at 3 a.m. feeling like someone poured drain cleaner down my throat. NOT pleasant. Gotta remember to put pepcid on my shopping list... oh, and getting back on my diet wouldn�t be a bad idea either.

*******************

Ok, I�m done now. Even if I don�t go to bed, I�ve at least got to go get these dry-ass contacts out of my eyes before they fuse onto my eyeball permanently.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!