Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Dental appointment in hell

2004-09-21 - 1:36 p.m.

Disclaimer

So how're mah hillbilly teeth doing, you ask?

Well, they's doing just exactly the same as they were doing BEFORE my dentist appointment, actually, seeing as how I fled the dentist's office in horror within 10 minutes of walking in the door.

I was a little concerned when I discovered the office was in a rather downtrodden-looking storefront-type office building, but I decided to keep an open mind.

The place smelled kind of funny, but the doc's office looked fairly ok. Then the dentist himself lumbered out... a very sloppy sort of fat, with a dirty smock, a brusque manner and a cough. No other staff was in evidence when I first got there at 10:15... no other patients, either.

I filled out the incredibly redundant forms and then asked to use the restroom. It stunk like sauerkraut, ass, and a strange sickly sweet smell I later identified as coming from a gingerbread-man air freshner whose plight of hanging around trying to freshen that mess I felt immensely sorry for.

Back upstairs to where some staff was finally arriving, then I was led to the back to a very shabby-looking work area. The chair and equipment looked like something from the 70's, the assistant was coughing, nobody seemed very friendly or professional, and at this point I was practically hyperventilating with anxiety.

I just knew I wasn't going to have a good experience with this office, yet I've got a very hurty tooth I'd like to get taken care of today, if possible. Yet if I start treatment there, how big of a hassle will it be to switch dentists? How many times would I have to have look at those grungy looking man-titties hovering over my face while he prods my mouth with those butt-scratching fingers of his?

As the assistant started to put the bib on me, I jumped up and said "I just can't do this" and ran out of the office, with no other explanation. What was I going to say? "God you people are gross" springs to mind, but I'm not generally a rude person like that. So I just didn't answer my cell phone when it rang a few minutes later.

They can just send me a bill for the $40 cancellation fee.

Meanwhile, the search for a dentist continues.








2 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!