Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



My inner artist rebels against the capitalistic system... or something like that

2003-06-19 - 6:05 a.m.

Disclaimer

I spent $73 on art supplies last night, and that was AFTER my student discount. It just amazes me that these art teachers think nothing of handing an $80 list of supplies to his unsuspecting students. Do they not know how many of us are struggling financially? When I signed up for this course I was hoping the supply list would be short... like maybe paper and pencils? It is beginning drawing, after all. Do I really need to learn how to use three kinds of charcoal and four colors of comte' crayon (at $3.39 per color) and a PINT of india ink in addition to the pencils I already own? Considering I can't even USE said pencils effectively? The list also included three kinds of erasers... now THERE is something I can relate to.

He also offhandedly added a $13 set of Prismacolor pencils to the list and mentioned "maybe we'll even get into some colored inks!" Well, fuck dat. I'll be using the very nice set of Crayola pencils I already own, thank you very much. What, is he going to fail me? (I sure hope not, but I'm not paying the $13.)

I got the drawing of my shoe finished late last night. It does strongly resemble my actual shoe, and after much erasing and redrawing I did manage to get the proportions right. But man, the detail work was a killer. Most of last night's work was more hurried than I'd have liked simply because I needed to get it done and get to bed.

So far he's given us two drawing assignments (including the self-portrait that is due next week) yet he hasn't taught us a blessed thing. I sure hope that changes as we go along... my whole drawing looks amateurish, and particular parts of it are really bad. How the heck do you draw realistic-looking shoelaces? Inquiring minds have paid nearly $200 in tuition and supplies to find out. I'm going to be bummed if such information is not forthcoming amongst all the "loose drawing with sticks and ink" and "being the tree" kind of stuff.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!