Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



See what happens when y'all don't update? I get bored, you get a three-page entry about nothing

2003-06-21 - 10:19 a.m.

Disclaimer

Got my grade report from last quarter in the mail yesterday... I got A�s in BOTH my classes! I�m a little surprised by the A from Scanning Guy. I was pretty sure I hadn�t done all that well on my finals. Maybe the picture of my ass bought me some extra points? Heheh. Whatever... I�m tickled shitless about my grades!

The new classes are going ok, I guess. Shockingly, surprisingly, Scanning Guy seems a little more animated in this new class than he did in the last. He�s cracked a joke a couple of times, told a small personal anecdote, and just seems generally looser all around. I also discovered he�s not a huge stickler for homework deadlines�which I appreciate even though I�ll probably never take advantage of it. The paper&ink class (from now on referred to as Paper because it annoys me to type out paper&ink) so far kind of sucks... we had to do MATH on Wednesday to figure out the price of paper from a buyers list; and have to have memorized the formula and other pertinent numbers by Monday�s quiz. Blech, and double blech! I did figure out how to do the problems, but as usual I made a mistake on the one we did as a class and so fell behind while the rest of the class worked it through. Talk about stress.... I HATE HATE HATE math, and I hate it a thousand million bazillion times worse when I feel under pressure about it. I did manage to figure it out on my own, though. Now I just have to re-learn it for Monday. (What, like I�m going to retain something I learned in class? Pfffffffft.)

And the drawing class... Mr. Feed-Your-Soul has become Mr. Working-My-Nerves. I don�t like his style of interacting with his students. He asks a question but then it doesn�t seem like he "clicks" with the student who answers. His comments seem to miss the student�s point entirely, he gives no real feedback or encouragement, and if he doesn�t get the answer he�s looking for, he continues to hound the student none-too-subtly to get them to say what he wants to hear. (Most compassionate teachers, when getting an answer that�s not quite what they were looking for will at least say something like �yes, that�s a good point... anyone see anything else?� You know, the sort of thing that at least leaves the student a little dignity.) He hounded one poor lady practically to tears because she couldn�t figure out how to define �proportion� without using the word �proportion� in the definition. And he continued to badger her to get her to say that the object in a picture looked 3-dimensional because of the shading--even though she just could not see it, he wouldn't TELL her or even give her a decent hint about what answer he was looking for... he just kept making her guess. I just felt irritated the entire time the teacher was talking... I kept getting a sense that he was not at all in tune with his students, not in sync with us somehow, and it was frustrating to listen to him. Like being stuck in long line at the grocery behind someone who's whistling out of tune. It's all the more aggravating because he seems to be so in love with the sound of his own voice. Yammer, yammer, yammer, on and on and on, out of tune, off the beat. I felt like jamming my sharpened pencil straight into my brain... or his. I�m hoping he was just having a bad day, but I�ve made a mental note to never ever speak up in his class if I can avoid it.

My shoe drawing turned out to be one of the worst in the class. Not surprisingly, but still frustrating. Now I get to sweat blood this weekend trying to figure out how to draw my own face in a mirror. Maybe that�s how I�ll draw it, with little droplets of blood forming on my forehead and dripping down. I�ll call it my goth look... maybe it'll fool him into thinking I'm real creative, like the guy in class who drew the bottom of his shoe. Hey, maybe I'll draw a picture of my ass! He said do a self-portrait but I don't think he specified the face. But then again, it's supposed to be life size or bigger and I don't think they make paper that big.

So like I said, the classes are just ok. The scheduling of my classes really sucks ass though. Between attending classes and doing the homework, I felt like I was running to catch up all day Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. Of course, as usual I am my own worst enemy. I�ve made NO effort to get organized yet and it shows. I �forgot� to do the readings for both the Paper and graphic arts classes and wound up doing them on the bus; didn�t remember to bring my class schedule and had to ask around to find my classes; and nearly missed the bus to my afternoon class on Wednesday out of pure stupid vanity. I didn�t leave the house soon enough, and I had decided to try walking the half-mile to the bus stop in dumb shoes, a pair of high-heeled sandals. (They�re the only shoes that go with my black capris, which are the only pants I own that fit me that show off my tattoo.) I stuck a pair of dorky white tennis shoes in my bag in case the sandals didn�t work out, which they didn�t so I stopped halfway to the bus stop and changed shoes. Now the bus is supposed to be there somewhere between 1:57 and 2:07, but I saw the bastard sitting at the traffic light at around 1:54 and had to make a serious run for it--and just barely made it. So yeah, it was my own stupidity and vanity that got me in trouble, but then again, it WAS the first time this particular bus driver has EVER been on time. Seriously. He�s always been between 5 and 20 minutes late, every single day. But I should know better than to count on that... the only time buses ever come on time is when I�m running late.

My feet and legs have been killing me lately. You�d think I�d be in better shape after all the walking I�ve done in recent months, but it never seems to get any easier or less painful. All the walking and the attempted wearing of the stupid shoes and then the running did not help matters any, and by Wednesday night my legs and back and feet were killing me. I could barely hobble around the apartment that night. I was a little better by morning after taking some tylenol and an MSM-glucosamine supplement, but I wore sensible shoes to school on Thursday and was really looking forward to my swim, thinking that leisurely gliding through a heated pool would feel good on my muscles and joints. And it DID feel good while I was doing it, but by evening the muscles in the backs of my legs were on fire and my back and feet and neck and shoulders were KILLING me. Criminy! So much for a gentle exercise, I guess. I thought exercise was supposed to make you feel better! I�m getting a little tired of feeling so achy all the time.

In honor of feeling so stiff and sore and crappy, yesterday I decided to be a complete zero. I farted around on the computer most of the day, took a long nap, farted around some more, watched a movie. I stayed in the clothes I slept in all day... well, at least until after 6 p.m. when I decided it might be a good idea to shower and brush my teeth if I wanted the Prince to take me out for supper. Chipotle�s again... I love that place.

Of course, blowing yesterday off completely means I�m a day behind on all I wanted to accomplish this weekend. The house, the bills, my homework and many miscellaneous obligations and duties are all in such a huge clusterfuck of disorganization that I hardly know where to begin. Here�s my To Do list for today:

Find the addresses of my in-laws, my grandparents and my dad so that I can send off the following: Grandma�s Mother�s Day Card (along with Grandpa�s Father�s Day card and the Olive Garden gift certificate which is a joint gift for them both;) my dad�s Father�s Day card (his gift went out seperately and arrived on time;) the card from my father-in-law�s June 6 birthday, his Father�s Day card, and gift certificates to Borders and Olive Garden.

Call Grandma and thank her for the check she sent me so she wouldn�t feel guilty about giving �my� sewing machine to my cousin�s wife (with my permission, of course.)

Pay bills so I can figure out if we have any extra money at all to do anything this weekend.

Check and see what groceries we need from Aldi�s... Saturday is the only day they are open that I actually have a car to get there.

Find my uncashed final paycheck and deposit it so I can pay the rest of my tuition.

Find the uncashed child support check and cash it so I can...

Take the Evil Childe shopping for jeans, tennis shoes and a bathing suit.

Take back the lycra bicycle shorts I bought which make my thighs look like great fat sausages tied in the middle, and use the money I get back to buy some REAL shorts.

Also pick up a comfortable pair of walking sandals if I have enough money.

Do the actual grocery shopping.

Clean up the kitchen and do a load of dishes.

Clean the bathroom... or at least clean off the bathroom sink and counter so I can do my self portrait in there.

Tomorrow I have to clean up the living room, do laundry, designate and organize a spot for my schoolwork which is presently scattered all over the house, draw a picture of my face, study for the Paper quiz on Monday, and go out to dinner with the Prince to celebrate our second anniversary. At least there�s one fun thing on my agenda!

With all that to do, wouldn�t you think a sensible person wouldn�t have wasted half a day already fucking off at the computer? (I know what you�re thinking and it�s not nice... not nice at all.)








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!