Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Much miscellaneous musing

2004-01-05 - 2:07 p.m.

Disclaimer

I wish I had something to say. I miss writing in here, being a part of the whole Diaryland thang, when I let days and days lapse between entries.

But I stay away because I just don't enjoy writing down the mundanity (if it ain't a word, it ought to be) of my days. I want to be Funny Dammit, and if not funny then poignant, and if not poignant then at least interesting. I want my writing to sparkle, to make people laugh or think or feel or at least make them wish they knew me. I wish I had the gift that some writers seem to have of making even the most ordinary of days sound sublime, while their spectacular days seem almost to shimmer in the describing.

But me... I write about cat vomit. If the cats don't keep coming up with ever more creative ways to barf and crap, I got nothing. Fortunately, they manage to come up with something (har har) on a semi-regular basis.

But not today. Today the cats are disgustingly well behaved, and I'm all about boring.

First day back at school after three weeks of glorious vacation. Ok, maybe glorious is a bit too strong an adjective... it's not like I got to live out my Corona Beer Commercial fantasy or anything. But I did enjoy my time off. Didn't accomplish a blasted thing and strangely enough, I don't even care. I relaxed... and THAT, my friends, is accomplishment enough for me right now. I read and played on the Internet and drew pictures and watched movies. I did a whole lot of nothing for the holidays and enjoyed it immensely. I got to visit two art museums and had a great time meeting an artist whose work I really admire. I drank lots of wine and ate lots of food I didn't have to cook and had lots of sex and got lots of sleep. Who cares that the house looks like shit? Not me. Seriously... Not Me. For the first time in 22 years of being a grown-up, I seriously do not care that my apartment is a filthy pit, because I've been too busy enjoying my vacation.

Housecleaning didn't even make my top ten resolutions for 2004. Hell, the theme for my resolutions list for this year might well just be "Hedonism." This year, I'm all about looking good and feeling good and having fun. Screw housecleaning. Screw the onerous diet plan, and screw the restrictive budget. The Big Three failures of my adult life are barely getting a nod from me this year.

Maybe if I channel my time and money and energy into things that are fun and pleasurable and important to ME, I can circumvent the depression and frustration that keeps causing me to trip myself up in all those other areas. Maybe if I focus on fun for a change, the other things will fall into place. And if they don't? Well, at least I'll have had the fun!

Anyway... the transition from vacation to real life again has begun. I forgot just how much it sucks to have to stay awake and pay attention when you're sleepy. I come home from school and get all jealous of the cats curled up sleeping on my bed in the quiet apartment.

A bright spot in my day today... my school loan check came in the mail! I've got to save most of it for tuition next quarter--wish me luck, we all know that hanging onto money isn't really among my talents--but there are a few things that will be getting checked off of my To Buy list. Glasses for the Prince and contacts for the Evil Childe. A scanner, possibly a printer, and replacement software for the digital camera. And... and... and... that's it, I think. There are a million things both major and minor that I'd like to buy but I have GOT to hang on to most of that money for school.

Oh, and I also need to buy a bookcase for my bedroom. But that's REALLY it.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!