Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Here's 'The Plan'

2003-03-29 - 8:32 a.m.

Disclaimer

It's a fine freezing Saturday here in Chicagoland and for once I've got the day off! It's 8:30ish and I'm already bathed, legs freshly shaved, and, believe it or not, I'm dressed. Well, except for my pants that are hanging over the back of the recliner while I sit here and type in my underwear. So I guess I'm mostly dressed, or about to be dressed, or something.

The apartment is a HUGE mess, but the dishes are done and my kitchen cabinets are sparkling clean and organized, compliments of the Evil Childe. I have much I want to accomplish today... I'd like to have two days of R&R, but in the long run I think that the lowering of my overall stress level will be better served by getting some cleaning and organizing done in preparation for my new and improved school schedule. To hear me bitch about it, you'd think I was taking more than two measly classes while working part-time, wouldn't you? But I'm not a stress-puppy in any sense of the word. I do not thrive on adrenaline... I'm more of a couch-napping, book-reading, web-surfing sort than a go-getter. Ambition is quite a new experience for me.

Anyway... the indentured servitude of the Evil Childe is near its end. Today's chore list will be short but ugly. Finish all her laundry, clean the cigarette butts and crap off the patio, and--horror of horrors-- clean OUR bathroom. She's put quite a bit of effort into these little chores, because the alternative was another week of grounding, and that week being spring break. As soon as she realized her two-week grounding period was going to cut into her recreation time, she began petitioning me for clemency. "I'll do chores, anything you want, as MUCH as you want! Just PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEASE let me off grounding for spring break!!!!!" Being a reasonable sort, I asked, "You'll do ANYTHING? Like, would you lick my toilet clean?" It worries me that she didn't even hesitate to agree to that. (Oh, shut up. She knew I was kidding.)

I told her no, told her that I wouldn't even think about it. And then I DID think about it. It's been a VERY long week for her (and me) and really, the horrible thing she did is going to cost me big money at some point in the future. I benefit nothing by grounding her, and profit very little from jerking her allowance even for an extended period of time. But chores... ah, now free labor is something I can use. And for once, I have leverage to actually get her to DO the chores I assign... she badly wants spring break! Hence, the servitude. I love it when a plan comes together.

On my little agenda for the day...

Since my kitchen is now clean enough to cook in and we're too broke to go out to eat all weekend (having gone out about 15 times in the past month) I need to go to Aldi's (the cheap-ass grocery) to get some actual food in the house. (It doesn't seem to matter HOW much money I spend at Jewel, we never actually have anything to make meals out of until I shop at Aldi's.) Then a stop at Whole Foods Market for sushi because--just why AM I craving sushi at nine in the morning, anyway?

Then a quick stop at the library, home to wake up HRH, and then to do some cleaning and organizing while he gets in the necessary six hours of unshowered relaxation time in front of the computer, monitoring the war which simply cannot proceed without his constant undivided attention. Much to his dismay, however, he will not be able to log in a complete six hours of bumdom, seeing as how he desperately needs a haircut but his barber closes at five. So he will be dragged kicking and screaming into the shower--in the middle of prime relaxation time!--and then on to the mall for pants and a haircut, and then maybe out to dinner and a stop at the bookstore? Hopefully.

If I'm a really good girl today and get all my stuff done, maybe tomorrow I'll even get to sit down! We'll see...








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!