Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Mmmmmm... poppers

2003-04-28 - 6:34 p.m.

Disclaimer

One of the 637,000 dumbest things I've ever said:

(Said to myself, upon looking in the mirror and seeing the blood pouring out of a small gash in my side) "Man, that looks really realistic... just like in the movies!"

So I DID take the day off work today... I'm pretty sure they're not going to fire me for it; and besides the fact that I really did have a legitimate excuse, I also really needed a day just to decompress from the last couple of weeks and maybe get a little bit done around here to boot.

I just called and told the receptionist what happened and that I was going to go get a tetanus shot and might or might not be in today. Guess which one it turned out to be? I DID go get the shot, as a matter of fact. I figured I was about due, since the shots are only good for 10 years and the last time I remember having one was when I worked at the daycare center when the Evil Childe was two years old, and she's 15 now.

I am a little worried I'm going to get a lecture about how I need to call my boss directly when I'm not coming in, and not just leave a message with the receptionist... but whatever. I'm not likely to be taking any more unscheduled time off between now and the end of the summer when I'll probably be out of a job anyway.

I will probably work late tomorrow, just because I know there's a shitload of catching up to do in my actual job, seeing as how most of my time and attention of late has been directed towards the jobs of others. I think I'm gonna just stay all day and then hop the bus right from work to school. Not only should this earn me back some brownie points with the boss, but conveniently and entirely coincidentally it also gets me out of walking home from work AND walking back to the bus stop later for school.

My plan for today was to get some more organizing done here at home, and I did get SOME done, but not nearly as much as I'd have liked. I wound up sleeping a good bit of the day away--which is probably a good thing as I've been really stressed and worn out lately.

But man... I'd sure like to have the house done once. I'm making pretty good headway, but from where I started from it's a long journey and even great strides in organization don't APPEAR to be making much of a dent in the overall chaos.

What it would take to make me really happy at the moment: a couple of more thousand dollars in the bank to cover all I've spent on organizing and cleaning supplies, summer clothes for the family, and food; some more money to get the Horny Cat neuteralized, and to get the Fat One professionally tranquilized and groomed so we don't have to go through the days-long yearly grooming trauma known as Chase, Capture, Torture and Escape; and a couple hours' use of that nifty riding vacuum machine that the Cat in the Hat used to suck up the awful mess made by Things 1 & 2 (and if you can picture that mess in your mind, you'll have a pretty good idea of what my apartment looks like--minus the preachy, anal-retentive goldfish, of course, who in my household would no doubt have long ago been eaten by cats.)

This just in: apparently all it REALLY took to make me happy right at the moment is a large order of jalapeno poppers and a vanilla shake fetched for me by my darling Prince Charming who I've just moved to the very top of my list of Favorite Husbands Ever.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!