Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Hell, I didn't even hurt myself this time!

2003-05-12 - 5:38 p.m.

Disclaimer

Boy, this school shit is already paying off big time!

I've just completed the second of my design projects which involved coming up with a series of rough sketches and gradually improving upon a select few of them until ultimately, one is chosen to be transferred to an art board and rendered with brush and ink. It's a very painstaking process which requires much concentration and attention to detail, and our teacher said that, among other things, it would teach us to focus.

So I worked on my project for hours and hours yesterday and it turned out pretty good if I do say so myself. When I was finished I took a hot bath and then hopped on the computer to play a little "Collapse" and unwind... and I'll be damned if I didn't nearly DOUBLE my previous high score. Like from in the 500,000's to the 900,000's. Suddenly I was seeing strategic possibilities I'd never noticed before.

It was as if I was stuck in hyperfocus mode or something. Weird, in a good way... I wonder if the improved focus will be permanent or just a temporary side effect of concentrating so deeply on my project? While improved game scores are nice, I'm thinking it might even come in handy to be able to concentrate better in class, as well.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In job news, I came thisclose to walking right the hell out of there today when I discovered that someone had meddled with and messed up five enrollments I'd been approved to start last week. As it turns out the zone manager I'd thought had done the meddling HADN'T done it, and we still don't know who DID, but at least I was able to fix the mess up quickly with a few phone calls. I had already determined that if she or the boss would have told me to call five fucking clients to tell them they wouldn't be starting on our program after I already called them last week to tell them they WOULD, I was gonna tell them to blow it out their asses. (My supervisors, not the clients.)

There are just too damn many people leaving their fingerprints all over my work--and I just know that one day someone is going to come to me and say 'what's going on with this or that?' and I'm not going to know because too many people have been fiddling around with my shit after I go home every day. And then I'm going to be expected to interrupt what I'm doing to find out what is going on, thus getting ever more confused and ever further behind.

Which is just one more reason why the words "Eat my ass" are living on the very tip of my tongue when I'm at work these days.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And in other job news? One of the zone managers got fired last Friday. The one who yelled at me a few weeks ago for a tiny little mistake I made, which had turned into a little bit bigger of a problem when she neglected to TELL me about my mistake but instead just decided to drop her end of the stick; which was still no big deal overall but she yelled at me about it over the phone anyway and then she even went and got pissy with a client on the phone about it too and tried to blame her own portion of the mistake on me. (And the client called me to tell me about it because what the zone manager said to her didn't even make sense!) So I can't say I feel too awful sorry for her.

The bad news is that the two remaining zone managers will be kept quite busy working their asses off trying to keep up with their own work and carry hers, too.

And surprise surprise... neither one of them has bothered to make their 'daily' call to me to approve enrollments for their zone since the day the boss decreed it. So there's a growing shitload of enrollments just sitting on my desk all nice and neat in folders waiting for the zone managers approval. And I don't even fucking care. They can come get them if they want them.

Who's the one who said from the beginning this wasn't going to work out? Must have been one of those damn opinionated rank and filers...








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!