Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



We could always eat one of the horses

2004-01-20 - 5:37 a.m.

Disclaimer

Guess what I did this morning?

I darned a pair of socks. See, I TOLD you I could be frugal! Gosh, I feel like Ma Ingalls. Maybe later I'll render us a hog's head. Or something.

No, I know... I'll knit us all up some red woolen longjohns to get us through those long, cold Illinois nights with the furnace turned down to 0.

This is going to be fun!

Last night the Prince finally got a hold of his parents to give them our bad news and bless them, they offered to help us out with COBRA insurance and to take over the payments on the Prince's remaining school loan. So there's a couple of big things out of the way.

I've pretty much shelved the idea of getting a 'little graphic arts job' to tide us over... there don't seem to even be any entry level jobs in graphic arts at the moment. All the ads I've read just assume you have the big three--Photoshop, Illustrator, and Quark Express--and then go on to ask for 5 years experience in technologies I've never even heard of, let alone gotten my hands dirty with. So poop on that. Makes me real nervous about getting a job in this field in the future, let me tell ya.

But I can't worry about that now. For now, my goal is to find a decent secretarial-type job that has actual benefits. That way we wouldn't need COBRA.

I did actually get some work done on the apartment this weekend... it doesn't look fabulous, but at least we can see the floor! And now that I have located our bills notebook, the fun of establishing a stricter than stricter than strict budget begins.

Ah, decisions, decisions. Do we shut off the home phone and just rely on our clunky old cell phone? Or we could just shut off the long distance service since we get enough free minutes on the cell... but our long distance only runs between $10-20 a month anyway. Do we shut off the cable? It costs a plague-wagon full of arms and legs, but then again, we're going to have an entertainment budget of near-ZERO for awhile. I think it's going to have to go, sadly... but if we keep Netflix at $20 a month and just use the shit out of it, we ought to be ok in that department.

What about Internet? Broadband is like $40 a month... but we don't have an actual modem so we can't even do dial-up unless we want to plunk down a hundred or so bucks we don't actually have to spare to buy one. We actually need Internet access for our job searching, and again it's a major form of entertainment around here... but I suppose we could use the Internet at my school's computer lab. It'd be a pain in the ass, but it's not like the Prince is going to be pressed for time after Thursday.

We'll just have to see what the numbers do when I get them down on paper.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!