Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



It's aggervatin', I tell ya

2004-07-23 - 5:50 p.m.

Disclaimer

Am I just an unusually peevish person, or is it completely retarded to call up a company, identify yourself and then not say another fucking thing?

I can't tell you how many times a day I get a call that starts, "This is Bob, from AGBQ Graphics."

I wait for Bob to go on and tell me what or who he wants, like a normal person.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And wait.

.

.

.

.

.

And wait.

Valiantly fighting back the urge to say in my snottiest voice, "SO???????", finally I give in and ask, "What can I do for you?" But it irritates the living shit out of me that I have to ask.

I mean, come on, Bob. You and I both know you didn't call here because you had an overwhelming urge to tell someone your name, and you thought I might have an overwhelming craving to hear it. You called here because you want something. Why, for poop's sake, do you feel the need to make me coax it out of you?

I can't imagine calling up my daughter's school, for example, and saying simply "This is Amy Charming" and then quietly waiting for them to quiz me as to why they should care.

Depending on the need-to-know factor, I would say something like "This is Amy Charming, Evil Childe's mom. She won't be coming in today because she has a fake sore throat. I'm sure she'll be all better by tomorrow."

It shouldn't be a big deal, I know, but jeez louise. It seems like there are far too many grown-ups out there in the world who simply should not be allowed to use the phone when their Mommy isn't home.








2 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!