Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Christmas cheer

2004-12-27 - 9:17 p.m.

Disclaimer

We're back from five days in Georgia with the Prince's family. It was fun seeing everyone, but I am SOOOOOO glad to be home. I am just not cut out to be part of a group on an ongoing basis. The whole deal of every little thing from meals to naps to jaunts out shopping or to the movies having to be decided upon by a committee gets old for me REAL quick.

I wound up sleeping a lot just to get away from the group scene for awhile. What I really wanted yesterday was one measly afternoon out at the local bookstore with just the Prince and Evil Childe, but naturally that got voted down so I wound up taking yet another nap and then sulking most of the rest of the day, which no one seemed to notice or if they did, they were too polite to comment.

We did have a nice time with his folks though. The Prince's brother's family was there too, and it was good to be able to spend time with them and their girls. The nieces are not only smart and adorable, they are quite the little characters so we had a lot of fun hanging out with them.

We dodged one "church" bullet on Christmas Eve... everyone else went but we stayed home to take advantage of the rare free bathroom time to shit and shower in peace. The Prince's mom called us sinners to our faces, mostly jokingly of course but kind of not. But it turns out we made a real good call skipping church that night as they apparently had a bunch of missionaries speaking during the service and it went on WAY too long. I think my evening of shitting, showering and wine drinking was by far the more spiritually uplifting way to spend Christmas Eve, considering I was all relaxed when everyone came home, and they were pretty tense and tired out from the service. We did wind up going to church on Sunday though, and it did blow as much as I expected.

The two high points of the trip were that the plane did not in fact crash like I'd been worrying about ever since I found out about this trip six months ago; and also, the @#$#@Q cop who pulled me over for speeding when I was driving everyone to the mall did not actually give me a ticket. But I cussed him real good before and after I did the polite "I'm so sorry officer, I'm not from around here" speech in hopes of getting out of the ticket. That shit never works for me, but somehow it did this time so Merry F'in Christmas to me, eh?

Home again, home again, we fought amongst ourselves like a pack of wild dogs the entire way from Augusta to Chicago, then stopped at Chipotle's for supper and margaritas and now I'm drinking beer until I pass out, and then tomorrow I'm taking the car and going somewhere I want to go. No, I don't know where, I'm just going to decide and then go. By myself, in my car, without taking a vote beforehand or having 15 people tagging along and whining, "Are we done yet?"

How very fucking refreshing that sounds.

Oh, and the cats are not dead after spending five days in our apartment alone. So yay! I think.

Also Polar Express is without a doubt the lamest goddamn holiday movie I have ever fucking seen. It was like, this train picks up kids at their house for no apparent reason, then a whole bunch of really bizarre shit happens for no apparent reason, no, I mean a WHOLE bunch of shit. Then they get to the north pole and there is some kind of cool high tech looking special effects and then they meet a really fucking freaky scary-assed Santa who the main kid can't see until AFTER he decides to believe (a fucked-up Christian metaphor if I ever saw one, which irritates the living shit right out of me) and then they all go home, having learned some kind of lame-assed lesson that I had long ceased to give a rat's ass about.

I just threw the movie review in for free.








5 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!